Working in the New Herb Garden

New Herb garden - part done crop May 2018.jpg

Today I spent a good deal of time processing bee balm for the dehydrators. This didn’t leave a lot of time for working in the gardens. I got the 3rd row cleaned out and amended then had to quit. It was too hot.

Here’s some of the herbs you can see in the photo above:

New Herb garden - blue flax crop May 2018.jpg
Blue flax from Row 2

I never expected this to survive a winter here, but it sure did! It’s such a lovely shade of blue.

New Herb garden - 7th row - Roman wormwood crop May 2018.jpg
Wormwood from Row 1

This was transplanted back in April from Row 7. It sure doesn’t look like it bothered it much.

New Herb garden - 5th row - bee balm crop May 2018.jpg
Bee balm in Row 3

This patch is far too overgrown. I am thinning it out and dehydrating it for the layers in winter. I’ve got 2 rainy days coming so I plan to keep both dehydrators going.

New Herb garden - 7th row - chive blossoms crop May 2018.jpg
Chive blossoms in Row 7

Another transplant done in April. It sure is doing well.

New Herb garden - 7th row - oregano crop May 2018.jpg
Oregano in Row 7

This was also transplanted in April. It had a tendency to grow to 6’ across. We cut it down in size when we moved it, so maybe, just maybe, it won’t try to take over the garden.

I also spent the hot afternoon transcribing my scribbled notes into the garden records. I plan to get the records up to date while it rains.

My husband plans to haul in mulch while it rains. When it stops, I will have plenty to do between finishing the planting and mulching.

Sort:  

Your garden is so organized! This year was my first year I didn't just plop my veggies wherever I felt like it. I actually made a plan and followed it. That's actually quite an accomplishment! I love when you share your gardens. They are very inspiring!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm so envious of the neatness of your herb garden. It's all wildly disorganised here - they're under fruit trees, beside natives, in cracks in the path!

They may actually be happier that way. But my Lyme brain could not deal with trying to remember what was where. It needs simple and straight, hence the garden. There's a lot to be said for the permaculture method, like what @mountainjewel has done here:

https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@mountainjewel/the-gardens-mountainjewel-or-permaculture-design-process#@goldenoakfarm/re-mountainjewel-the-gardens-mountainjewel-or-permaculture-design-process-20180601t084405319z

But that's beyond my abilities at this point in my life, so I just do what I can do...

Lovely and rich perennials! U dehydrate bee balm for your layers? Your hens in winter? Do tell more please as I’m quite curious!

I dehydrate up to 42 different herbs/forbs/flowers for the layers in winter. Properly dehydrated (vs drying) items still contain all the nutrition and enzymes in the fresh plant. I mixed up 5 different things in a 1/2 gallon jar and it lasts my 18 layers about 5 days. I sprinkle it on top of their alfalfa mash each morning.

ah fantastic. what a great addition to their feed! thanks. i wasn't sure if you fed it to them or used it in their laying boxes- one of my favorite herbalists (juliette de bairclay levy) talks about putting dried or fresh herbs in her hen's boxes for their health as well.

I do that also, but I think they get the best benefit from eating it, in the winter.

I do that also, but I think they get the best benefit from eating it, in the winter.

Lovely and rich perennials! U dehydrate bee balm for your layers? Your hens in winter? Do tell more please as I’m quite curious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42