You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alone on The Homestead

I've been left alone on the homestead 3 times since 1999, for periods ranging from 1 week to a month. Each time I was VERY busy but also very lonely. I don't drive, so even though I am not as far out as you are, I was pretty isolated.

The first day or so, I felt sort of sorry for myself, as my husband and son had gone off on vacation, while I stayed home to keep the farm going. But then, I got to REALLY liking the house staying neat and clean after I'd cleaned it. LOL

I did have the house cat for company, and she didn't make much mess. It was always during the spring or summer when they went.

When they came home I was very glad to see them and listen to all the stories, but I sure could have done without the mess.... :))

Sort:  

Only three times - that is incredible! I will admit things have been quite tidy and I haven't had much dishes or laundry but I would trade all that in a second, I don't mind the mess.

Yes, and I've only been on vacation myself twice, in 2001 and 2004. I seldom leave the homestead. The road trip is longest I've been off in years....

Home is quite a lovely sanctuary. I think a lot of people wish they didn't have to travel! We used to travel to escape our lives ...now that we are doing what we love, we don't really feel the need to escape anymore.

I have often wondered at the people who build their "dream home" then go away on vacations when they aren't working. Ever since we built this in 1983, it has been the only place I want to be...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46