Planting Garlic - October 24, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Frosty morning1 crop October 2019.jpg

Thursday morning had heavy frost and a frozen haze over Mt. Warner in the distance. I would not be going out to sit on the cold ground until it warmed up a lot.

Big garden - frosted crop October 2019.jpg

The comfrey in the Big garden was flattened and everything was crisp with frost.

Small garden plan crop October 2019.jpg

First I drew the Small garden plan, to see if all the rows I’d planned would fit into the cleared area. They did, with room to spare.

Grading cloves crop October 2019.jpg

Then I brought my garlic seed up from the root cellar for grading to plant.

Garlic bulbs crop October 2019.jpg

It had cured beautifully and stored well. It is German Extra Hardy that I’ve been growing and selecting for many years.

Garlic cloves1 crop October 2019.jpg

Having done the garden plan, which includes plant name, spacing and number of plants per row, I knew I needed about 250 cloves. Out of all the bulbs I broke apart, I only got 7 cloves that weren’t planting quality. Three were too small and 1 bulb had not cured properly.

Small garden - area amended crop October 2019.jpg
Small garden area with amendment down

My helper friend had finished this area on Tuesday. He thought he might be getting a cold and planned to go home, rest, dose himself with Vitamin C and fire cider, and hope he would miss the cold. He didn’t and so would not be helping plant garlic this week, as he’s pretty sick.

He’d gotten all the leaves up and double checked for growing roots on Tuesday. But the wind had come up since then and I had to rake a packed tote of leaves off before I could start. Then I put down the Small garden amendment mix he and I had made up a couple weeks ago. My son helped me lay out the rows.

Garlic - ready to plant crop October 2019.jpg

It took a while to collect all my materials together. I had the buckets of cloves ready. I put some Espoma BulbTone in a smaller bucket. Each hole gets 1 tablespoon under a drift of soil before the clove is put in.

I had to repair one of my diggers as it had lost a screw. The holes are 6” deep so that means I take out the first amount of soil which is 4” and then take out 2” more. These release diggers work pretty well.

Once the clove is put in, root side down, and the soil tamped firmly over it, I mark the area with a marker, so I know where I can mulch heavily or not.

I plant them 6” apart so I use a tape measure, as I get erratic when tired. This makes sure they have plenty of growing space. The string keeps the rows straight, a bonus when mulching with hay leaves as I was going to be.

The sheet of coated cardboard makes a big difference on how tired I get from sitting on cold or wet ground for hours.

Small garden - mulch hay crop September 2019.jpg

I had this much hay left to mulch the edges of the garden and all the rows. I would be mulching sparingly to make sure I had enough for all.

I got 1 row done and mulched by lunch time. I had another helper coming mid afternoon to plant.

Planting garlic - 3 rows done2 crop October 2019.jpg

Between the 2 of us, we got 2 more rows done by the time she had to leave. I have not lightly mulched around the bulbs, just put leaves down the rows, away from the bulbs.

Each 31’ row has 61 plants and I’d planned 4 rows for 244 plants. In checking my records for the previous few years, I’d planted a bit more to have to sell. I’m debating about putting in a 5th row, for a total of 305 plants. There’s room, but I’m not sure about mulch… And then there’s the energy problem….

Stay tuned to see what I decided to do…

More info on planting garlic:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/planting-garlic-november-21-2018-goldenoakfarm

Sort:  

Hi goldenoakfarm,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Good post !! The information is excellent. It can turn out to be a good business to plant garlic. Thanks for the photos and the data.
There will come Dracula! hahahaha
It's a joke ... kind regards @goldenoakfarm

Thanks! I just realized I forgot to put the links in for the other garlic planting posts... Will do it now.

Hello Hello!

It must have been a great day for you, I'm glad you had a productive day with your loved ones ♡

Greetings from Venezuela!

oh dear @goldenoakfarm, what a great job! I had never seen garlic planted in the ground before, never wondered how this bulb grew! how did it occur to you to cultivate it to sell it? or do you sell other plants for work?
congratulations on the curie vote

I've been selectively breeding this cultivar for several years, and seem to have gotten superior size and quality. When people saw the bulbs they wanted some. So I started growing more to sell. I raise about 1300 - 1500 seedlings most years, and sell the ones I don't need. All kinds: herbs, flowers, vegs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67065.15
ETH 3680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65