You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOW OR LATER - Should I START My HOMESTEAD Off Grid, Or Go Off Grid LATER?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I was just thinking this morning as I was working on kneading sourdough rolls for dinner about how over the last few years TV has almost glamorized off-grid living, self-sufficiency, etc by televising all those Alaskan shows, etc. Yes, I admit, I watch them. I think WOW! Could I do that? Do I know enough to be self-reliant?
The answer is simply... NO.

While the TV shows edit out lot of what happens to the people we see gracing our TV screens, you and Jamie are living it- unedited. Thanks for sharing this- no matter which way people choose to live their lives, as long as they are happy, not going without bare necessities for survival- I applaud their personal decisions.

Some day I'd like to be able to say, I am more self-sufficient and self-reliant but until that day comes, I continue learning new skills, honing in on what I am able to contribute to my lifestyle and inching closer to what I envision I want my life and home to be.

Sort:  

The shows are full of fake drama anyway. We almost got picked up by Discovery for our own show but they backed out because made it clear that we wanted the show to be about education and not drama. Oh that and they wanted me to shave my beard. DEAL KILLER.

HOW dare they!!! Shave your beard! But.. but.. but.. doesn't that feed into their stereotyping of people living off-grid? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29