Kitchen Happenings: SCOBY Success & Is That A Blossom Or Two I See?

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


food-kitchenspices-spoon-wood.jpg

Image Source-Public Domain Pictures


Just a few things that have been happening around the Golden D Homestead Kitchen this past week. I started some seeds which I posted about the other day and another post here.

But aside from starting my seedlings for the upcoming spring and summer harvest, I also have my winter indoor garden that I have been pampering and recently moved to a grow tent plus the newly discovered fermenting stage I have been having so much fun with.

So on to my kitchen happenings this week!



SCOBY Success!


A couple of weeks ago I started my first batch of kombucha. For those of you who don't know what kombucha is, it's basically a fermented sweet tea. I had never drank it, let alone made it before. But now I have and not only that, I was successful with making my own SCOBY (Symbiotic Culture Of Bacteria and Yeast). I was so proud I even did my second Dtube (short) video. One day I'll be able to make longer videos, but hey, I'm new at this


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS


Indoor Garden Is Doing Better In Grow Tent


catnip.jpg

Catnip has DOUBLED in size in just one week!


mater.jpg

Tomato plants have some blossoms starting now too!


sunfloew.jpg

And just cause they are SO cute- here's another look at my Dwarf & Evening Sun Sunflowers thriving! Although it seems as though two of the Evening Sun seedlings aren't quite ready to make an appearance.


So how has your week been? What wonderful things have you been doing?

signature.gif

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com



Sort:  

@goldendawne Congratulations on your first SCOBY, I've been wanting to ferment some kombucha for awhile now, I usually ferment kefir which is even better for the gut cause it has quintuple the probiotics, but is not vegan though.

I actually want to try to ferment the two together with Turmeric and see the results, you can also try mixing your kombucha with mint and lemon juice it is very refreshing during the summer 😉

Oh the mint with lemon juice sounds GREAT especially on a hot summer afternoon.

I wasn't sure I could make the SCOBY but I did and I was so thrilled!

@goldendawne I can imagine, yeah I heard it can be a struggle to raise SCOBY on your own, and you can experiment with anything on kombucha be it blueberry or orange juice, it will ferment anything you mix in and give you a nice and fuzzy drink

Way to go! That's a beautiful looking scooby.

YEAH! I am so happy! I even sent a picture to my husband at work... his reply...wth is that? lol

They are kind of strange in a "bacterial colony" life form type of way :) I'd love to get one under a microscope.

Look at them...doing so good!!!

Very nice homesteading @goldendawne love gardening

Congrats on the baby scoby :D I would love to learn how to make or tend to my own! Do you have any resources for a beginner looking to start?

I have a booklet on PDF I'd have to find it. If I do I'll message you on Discord

I have not started mine yet thinking maybe a good thing as febuary snow is here as we did not have any in january. I think I will hold off for two more weeks. I have such a daunting task ahead of me to plant vegetables this year. Maybe you could teach me a thing or two.

Normally I wouldn't have started early this year either but having the grow tent has been a real help to starting early.

Keep an eye on my blog- I'll be sharing so much in the coming weeks and months.

it's cool indoor garden i like your post, thanks for share @goldendawne

I learn something new from you all the time! hehe Love it

Have a good one @goldendawne!

Yeah... I love sharing all my adventures! ALways something new and exciting happening here.

your plants are looking great! isn't it cool to be able to do it indoors?

also congrats on the SCOBY & kombucha--- such a healthy, easy to make drink ;D

Thanks!! I wasn't sure how it would turn out and when I looked in the cupboard Monday night I was almost dancing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51