Well... It Has Started & I'm Not Sure How To Stop It!

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

It's that time of year when an overwhelming phenomenon overtakes us. And when I say US, I mean gardeners.


f.jpg


Yesterday morning after my quick walk to the mailbox, I gathered my seed containers to add a few loose packets of seeds I've been receiving in the mail and picking up here and there, and set to finishing my inventory and seeing which seeds I would be sprouting first for the season. Well, as I flipped through the boxes and packets, a paralyzing event took over me. Before I knew it, a bag of seed starter soil, peat pods and other miscellaneous planting items appeared before me.

I'm not sure what took over my brain, but soon my fingers were in the soil; scooping out 1/4 cups of dirt at a time. Then the seeds started jumping into the cups and peat pods. Heaven help me!

As I scooped the dirt and watered the peat pods, I kept telling myself, "It's OK... If they sprout too soon before I can move them outside into the greenhouse before the last frost of the season, I can always put them in my grow tent inside." Yup.. I was VERY convincing!


So What's Been Started?


sss.jpg

I have two trays like this; one is peat pods and this one has the cups pictured above.
Seedlings include:

  • Scarlet Runner beans
  • Sunflowers (dwarf & evening sun)
  • Little gem lettuce
  • Luffa Gourds
  • Some extra herbs- oregano, dill, chives and basil
  • Feverfew
  • Lemon Balm

NOTE- Thank you @fernowl13 for the Scarlet Runners and @beatitudes8 for the Luffa Gourds!

I carefully went through my selections before choosing which ones to start with. The way I am scheduling all my seedlings will be precise and for a reason. I have the next set in mind; which I am hoping to start in the peat pods in the next week. I am getting a jump on the planting season as I have the grow tent set up and already in use. I have a few plants and herbs already in the tent, but can always make room for more. Plus I have the gardening table cleared off and ready for action. I have a 150-watt grow light fixture hanging over the table, so any overflow from the grow tent, can go here.

It won't take but a moment to move my wine as it continues to ferment in the secondary phase. Other than that, the table is ready for ACTION!

tAB.jpg


So who else is JUMPING in head first already?


signature.gif


Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

()]
Sort:  

Awesome. I really don't like gardening but I like the results :D I often decide for multi year plants/bushes because I can't find the motivation to plant yearly lol.

Wahooo seeds are go go go!!! Temptation take over 😂😂😂

You know it!!
Kind of sad though, once you get started the fever takes over!

Sunflower and Oregano worth keeping in the garden :)


Rydhi
xox

Very exciting seeing everyone start to get their seeds going!

I am absolutely in it already LOL! Got just short of 100 pepper plants growing and I am going to start 40 or so tomatoes today! The great heirloom ones @karenfoster sent over in the Canadian seed exchange!!

Oh, that's great that you're able to put to good use the seeds from @karenfoster!

Are you planning on planting in a greenhouse later? Or in a garden?

They will go into our garden. We do all containers and raised beds. 15 x 120 Liter planters and then a mix up other containers.

Oh that's wonderful!!
I'm planning more containers and buckets this year. I don't have a lot of ground space for a garden so I have to be creative.

Containers work great for everything! Here is a pic from the middle of last summer.

20170727_165700.jpg

20170727_165732.jpg

Thx! Any garden plant will grow to full potential in a pot or raised bed. Beauty is that you can move them to fit any space.

@goldendawne, have you seen Disney's hydroponics display? They have lots of great ideas for space-saving vertical gardens.

NO I never have- I haven't been to the theme park in over 25 years.
I"ll have to pull up some images online. THANK YOU!

I’ve been starting seeds like mad. I’ve had to dreams lately that spring was here and I forgot to start my seeds and it was too late. So, I guess I’ve been suppressing some sort of seed starting anxiety. lol

Looks like a nice project you started there.
If you are not already you might want to get in contact with @pennsif ... he might have tips for you :)

lol- Yeah I know him well!
This little project will get out of hand if I don't watch myself. Yeah,I can picture that happening.

I think we've met already...

I wish I could find all those lovely growing supplies here in Cambodia... no garden centers and no reliable mail system :( Looking into a DIY hydroponics system now.

Oh, that's not good. WIsh there was a better way for you. Have you checked here and searched for hydroponics? I think I may have seen some over the last few months.

Yep... so much info here. My parents are coming over in 2 weeks and after that, I am visiting hydroponics farm close to the capital that will hopefully give me some inspiration to make my own system with materials we find here.

I've got about 200 jalapeno peppers ready to transplant.

Hopefully, it'll be a good growing season :)

200!!! Wholly Camolly!

WIshing you a success and HOT season!

I don't personally like the spicy peppers, but I've got a buyer who goes through 300 a week or more.

WOW! That's a lot of peppers! Now I'm thinking of making a Mexican dish for dinner tonight.

When those green thumbs start itching, there isn't but one cure! PLAY in the dirt. :) I'm trying to hold off a little longer, but you aren't helping! lol

Sorry I'm not helping the cause! But I swear... something just came over me. Seeing all the posts on here this past week... holding those packets in my hand. FELT SO good!

I hear you! I'm already on my second tray. Getting a lot of tomatoes and cabbage and herbs. I sometimes start a little early. I don't have a basement, so I'm always doing the transfer tray dance as we go about our day, and the sun moves. I'm curious if those luffa gourds really work for bathing. Have you tried one?

I did quite a few herbs thinking they will be good to have inside before I transplant out in the ground or out into the greenhouse.

Yes the luffa are those... I had been reading about them and @beatitudes8 sent me some on the mail. I'm planning on harvesting them solely for the purpose to use in my homemade soap. This is my first experience with them, so I'm giving myself a wide berth to learn about them more.

We have no basement either but we have a 1500-sqft house and it's only the two of us here; so we have room for the plants and seedlings.

Ah okay, I thought luffa sponge for baths...you grind them for soap? Interesting! I look forward to reading about that. We're in a camper currently with our kids. Thought about passing on sprouting myself this year, but as you say I was compelled! My seeds were calling out to me :)

No not grinding them- they come out like this
is.jpg

I believe you just have to peel them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60793.30
ETH 3356.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48