Mmmmm... What's That Smell? Homemade Ylang-Ylang DeodorantsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

For years I have been receiving a homestead newsletter through my email and recently they have added a smart phone app; so me being a person who likes to check out apps, I downloaded the app, signed in and was ready to use it.

Well last week I was checking out the app more in-depth and came across a diy deodorant recipe from a few months ago and thought. "OK, this sounds easy. I have all the ingredients and GOSH knows what is put into the commercial deodorant I am buying". Plus I have had reactions to the store bought deodorant off and on for years and I am attempting to reduce chemicals I put into my body, be healthier and not rely on pre-made health and beauty aids and companies so much. So I decided to give it a try.

collage-2017-11-09.jpg

Photo Collage Made Here

RECIPE


  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (in liquid form)
  • 1/3 cup corn starch
  • 2 tbls baking soda
  • 10-15 drops of essential oil optional

Mix first three ingredients together. The add essential oil.

My coconut oil is in solid form so I had to liquefy it and since I don't like doing it in the microwave, I got creative.
Remember my new indoor garden lighting system? Yeah, it pulled double duty that day.


ww.jpg

150W of power and thirty minutes later, coconut oil liquefied!

And that was it! The entire process took under three minutes; aside from waiting for the coconut oil to melt. Next time I will put the oil on top of the light WAY earlier so I don't have to wait.

I have been using this deodorant for exactly six days now and have to admit I LOVE it.

  • No rash or itchiness (which I was a little leery of)
  • No smelliness being emitted
  • Keeps me dry
  • Smells Heavenly
  • It seems to, excuse me for saying this, make my underarms softer and/or smoother

So I am going to continue making and using this DIY deodorant. Now I'm trying to talk hubby into letting me make him some. I told him I would use a more MANLY scent... but I haven't convinced him completely yet. I'll keep trying though.

SIGNATURE.jpgDQmWrXCPVGRFqdbXTXFjsQfhDXZys1FT3dWoX8LdXyK4XYv_1680x8400.pngDQmYXXHDrDwhEdyGeY3dmTFcG8swHjuLQeWMii6nJEZhGTB_1680x8400.png

Badges by @daddykirbs

Come join the homestead discordcommunity and have fun chatting with us- contact @pennsif or @greenacrehome for more information and to join!
DQmUAPFKc4m1ZSxdLLAwPuvaYsKDVEMNmjbqN3huRfBsGSk_1680x8400.jpg
Badge created by @allforthegood

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing this! I'm also looking to reduce the chemicals I'm using in any way possible, and I've struggled with reactions to store-bought deodorant as well. My allergist recommended a hypoallergenic brand of products, but they're SO expensive. I will have to give this a try next time I am in need of some new deodorant. And way to get creative in melting that oil!

I know. I had a few really bad "out breaks" and rashes from deodorant before.To the point I had to go to a doctor for an ointment.
They are outrageously priced too- the deodorants.

I have all these ingredients on hand at any given time so it was no out of pocket cost for me.

a good content leads to a good popularity.
your post resteemed!

Very cool I have read so many articles about what all is put into deodorants and how bad it really is for you.
Great post
Awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47