Burning skies and fever dreams

in #homesteading5 years ago

Today was pretty uneventful, which is actually nice. Last night, though, we were treated to a spectacular sunset. I can't really experience sunsets from the house, because we are surrounded by trees and this is all I get.

IMG_20190626_210634035_HDR.jpg

My son came up with the idea to drive down the road to where it's more open. That turned out to be a really good call.

IMG_20190626_211550926_HDR.jpg

What a spectacular display! I still only have my phone camera, which I have little skill with, but some of them came out okay. Nobody who drove past me while I was parked on the side of the road looked at me funny, because it was obvious that I was there to enjoy the view.

IMG_20190626_211727581_HDR.jpg

After the depressing day I had yesterday with the goose funeral and the grieving duck, this felt cathartic in a weird way. Like the universe was giving a gift to make up for taking the birds. I may be reading too much into it, but on the sad days you find comfort where you can.

IMG_20190626_211734494_HDR.jpg

Goose Duck was still sitting his vigil this morning, sleeping on the spot where we put the goose when we got her out of the water. By late morning, he had wandered down to join the rest of the flock. I guess he has accepted the situation and is moving on, but I had a horrible stress dream last night and I think it's because I feel guilty about not removing this hazard before it caused this kind of disaster. I can't help but feel responsible for every bad thing that befalls any animal on my farm.

IMG_20190626_211856847_HDR.jpg

We've been having thunder again this afternoon. This is really strange for us. We will sometimes get thunderstorms in the spring, but not usually this late in the season. The storms are bringing a little rain, which is much appreciated, although it means we will have to pump out the cistern again. We need another five inches of rain before it dries out for the summer, but it's not looking like that's going to happen. That means we will be on water watch much earlier than usual. The animals get as much water as they want, no matter what, but we have to be careful how much we use in the house.

IMG_20190626_211941957_HDR.jpg

It's almost time to do chores again, and since it's raining, the goats will be pretty cranky if I'm late. They nag based on the amount of light in the sky. I milk at 8:00 every morning, all year round, but the evening chore time changes depending on the length of the day. In the dead of winter its 4:00 or 4:30. In the summer it's at 7:00. Tonight, though, with the storm clouds, it's darker than usual and they will be yelling at me any minute now.

IMG_20190626_212102743.jpg

I sent my son down to the closer goat property to pick up a bale of hay, since our barn is empty, and he just called me to say that all the goats are in the barn! Not where they're supposed to be! He managed to get them back where they belong all by himself, which is a nice perk of marginally coerced labor. He doesn't like farm work, but if he stays here he has to help, and apparently he's learned a few things along the way.

IMG_20190626_212134680.jpg

The light is fading, at least in my sunset pictures, so I will leave you with one last shot that looks a little like the end of the world. Apparently it wasn't, because we all seem to be here still. Thanks to all of you who offered sympathy about my sad post yesterday. Sometimes I feel like an idiot, getting upset about a bird. But I empathize with creatures of all kinds, and my heart doesn't discriminate.

IMG_20190626_212440123.jpg

Good night, everyone, and be thankful for all the creatures that love you, whether they have fur, feathers, or boots and bad attitudes!

Sort:  

Beautiful Sunset photos! I love that you posted the progression as it set. I was sad to read of your loss of the goose in the last post.. I'm glad your goose duck has moved on. His story is interesting and would make me smile under other circumstances. I admire what you do and how you choose to live your life. I think you do the best you can, there are only so many hours in a day. I wish you well and hope your sadness passes soon.

Thank you! The sunset was an amazing end to a hard day. The Goose Duck story is definitely funny under any other circumstances. When people say "He's a strange bird" I think of him. I have been through tragedies before, and they are always hard, and I always wonder whether the joy of having animals is worth the pain of losing them, but the joy always wins in the end.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love me a good sunset. One of the best free shows around.

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed! I don't usually get to enjoy them!

Posted using Partiko Android

I see many...Not that many sunrises though...Normally sleeping! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I usually get up well before dawn, so sometimes I get to see both!

Posted using Partiko Android

I see them very occasionally, normally when I'm out camping or hunting...But through bloody sleepy eyes! 😴

Posted using Partiko Android

You have a free pass. You have a day job! That means your time off is for sleeping in. Farmers never get a day off. It's a blessing and a curse.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nature does seem to follow our moods sometimes. Im sorry about your bird. Not taking it lightly is a sign of what a true heart you are.

Thank you. It seemed like a fitting end to the day. The true heart gets tired.

Posted using Partiko Android

This sunset means "Everything will be fine, life will flow the way it should. Be at peace"

Thank you, Luz. It sure felt that way.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow... awesome sunset indeed. Glad that you were able to capture and enjoy it.

Thank you! I wish I could make it look exactly like it does through my eyes, but my phone is difficult!

Posted using Partiko Android

I understand what you mean. The phone camera has its limitations.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You're lucky! Those people that drive past can call the cops on you. Or so I've been told...

This has been a very weird year. We're forecast to get a week straight of thunderstorms starting Monday or Tuesday. We can't handle the water, at this point. We had sever flooding, cutting off two of the main highways into Rochester, MN yesterday. Ugh.

I know what you mean about the creatures. I hit a woodchuck (I think) the other day and felt awful. There wasn't any way to avoid it, but the poor little feller was just trying to get from point A to point Food. :-(

I hope Goose-Duck pulls through and is his old dapper self soon.

Yikes! That's a lot of rain! I guess you are getting all of our water this year. We've been very dry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow....!!!!😍🤗
Fantastic sunset pictures @goat-girlz and I hope you are having a fantastic weekend...😊🍓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66