You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Harvested Lemon Balm : And Got Stung

in #homesteading6 years ago

So what was the bad plant?

I've never thought of making oil from it. I've got it year round on my porch - up close to the house it will survive the winter. When you have it year round you don't think of things to do with it :)

Sort:  

I think it was stinging nettle: https://g.co/kgs/Wc8p3i
It looked simular to these pictures. ⬆️
We have a different strain of nettle also, hemp nettle. It doesn’t sting most of the time and the goats eat it.

It certainly looks like stinging nettle.

Yep, I think you got stung by the stinging nettle. to bad you burnt it. It is a great compost accelerator and also great for making compost tea with to feed your plants. I have stinging nettle growing all over my garden and I've come to love it and actually harvest loads of it for soups and I've even made smoothies out of them. - they lose their sting when mashed up. If you have any of the herb plantain around you can take a leaf of that, mash it up and rub the juice of it where you got stung and it will take the sting away. I use it all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97