You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PAPA BEING B.L.U.E.R. – Part 1 – LOGS

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

I have always bristled at those who act as if humanity is not as important and intrinsic to the planet as a tree, frog, or ocean.

People who say that humans have overpopulated this planet, need to understand that practicing permaculture will prove that we are a benefit to the Earth.

In fact, in order to bring balance back to some of the more degraded areas, we need MORE people, not less. When factory farming gives way to the techniques of Joel Salatin's, Polyface farming.

The berms and swales, used by Geoff Lawton to green the desert. Aquaponic systems I am working on.

People are not the problem. Corporations, greedy for a cheap buck are.

Sort:  

Very good points. I like Joel Salatin a lot.

I do to, he's no nonsense and pays attention to natural systems.

Yup, he's knows that there is a design to this whole thing and a way that it is supposed to work.

Also, I gave your first comment a 100% upvote because you made a real comment. I just want to reward proper behavior and let the spammers see how to properly interact. It can be rewarding!

Thanks @gggreenhouse!

Thank you Papa-Pepper, I appreciate your kindness.

It's good to hear these sentiments. I have my beliefs of the best ways to live with the land, but when there's always someone making you feel guilty for something it does sometimes make you question humanity. I love all life, but living inevitably means that something else living must die to sustain you, whether it be plant, fungus or animal. Yes we cause harm, but so do other things. As long as it's not so bad that nature can't fix it, then it isn't a problem it's a balance.

Yes, I agree with that, and realize the cycle of life on this planet. Some of the people who say such things, are usually parroting someone else. Never thinking for themselves, in my opinion.

Only humans have the capability to rehabilitate vast areas of deserts in one generation. Correcting the mistakes of the past. Mimicking natures process.

I often think about the wasted resources of our planet, during the era of the cold war, all that money and material. What sort of world would we have, if those resources had been used to change mono-culture farming? Using permaculture to build soil, instead of eroding it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43