Operation Market Garden.

in #homesteading6 years ago

Check out how I turned these useless vegetables into food using the power of barter.

P_20180821_112444_HDR.jpg

At this point in the summer I have more produce than I know what to do with so I decided to visit my friend who owns a restaurant and appreciates just-picked organic produce. His restaurant is in the top 100 highest rated on all of Yelp. One sack of tomatoes, jalapeños, eggplant, cucumbers and bell peppers turned into this:

P_20180821_125224_HDR.jpg

Even better I had an errand that took me past the restaurant on the way home so I didn't even need to make a separate trip. Lunch essentially cost me zero, probably I wasn't going to eat most of those vegetables anyways. It's not too photogenic but I think that plate runs $12-14, it is all different vegan dishes over some good basmati rice. I don't know what it actually costs since I never really pay there. Unlike the original Operation Market Garden mine was a huge success.

While in the garden I spotted one of my spotted helpers

P_20180821_113334_HDR.jpg

That's what I call integrated pest management @funbobby51 style!

Do you ever do any barter?

These low resolution cell phone photos and dull commentary are @funbobby51 original content, all rights reserved, please upvote generously and resteem, or you are a statist

Check out my previous harvest!

Sort:  

Barter is a great thing, and we all need to get good at it! This lunch looks wonderful; and he got the freshest possible produce, so Win Win! A good barter , and everyone wins, and is Happy with the result!

Thanks for posting! :)

it's my pleasure, thanks for your comments.

It is fun to talk to people on Steemit! I find so many different kinds, and learn from all. :D

I barter with some of my kids friends.....I need something done that my kids keep saying they will help me with or high up on the roof, like sealing around the chimney or something I tell them remember that time I took you in for two months when you were 18, lol, or remember that couch I had to throw out after you slept on it for six months....it usually works rather well, sometimes I give them a few bucks to show them I appreciated that they appreciated I was there for them at one time, and that I really didn't expect them to do it for nothing, sometimes they take it other times they insist they just appreciated me.

That's not bartering, that's a guilt trip!

lol, I told you I always offered up a few bucks. There's more to it then that, for a couple of them that help extended way past early adulthood for them, they always know where to come if they needed diapers for the kids, rides somewhere, something to eat and once last summer we took in one of them and his whole family for a month until they could save up enough for another place. But yeah, every now and then one stops by to visit my son and they'll start laughing when I say don't worry I don't need anything done, actually we all laugh. We just have each others backs I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43