Hickory Trees Are My FavoritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

20170908_150224.jpg
Hickory trees are my favorite trees to save and let grow on the land. The squirrels favor them too. If you are looking for squirrels.
Find a hickory tree with ripening nuts and there they will be. Chewing up and dropping shells under the tree. They will be easy to find.
While I don't hunt them anymore. I remember that they were huge eaters of our hickory nuts. But, rarely did they eat walnuts. The outer shell is too nasty to chew to the walnut. Until it dries a lot. Then they might try.
So, the squirrels drag the hickory nuts all over the woods, finding places to store them. That is how hickory trees can get started down through the woods.

So while I am trying to find little hickory trees to save. Look what I found growing in the woods.
Ugly
20170908_153435.jpg

It would be a nightmare to try to cut up the thorn tree in the woods and move it to the burning area. So, we take care of the problem the best we can. See for yourself.
20170908_160025.jpg

Not far from the thorn tree we found this. Another little hickory trying to grow. We will open an area up for sunlight to it. You can see by the bark that it is a hickory tree. I like where it is growing. In the woods. I have cleared an area around it so it can grow better.

Hickory wood is one of just a few that you can burn green. Most wood has to be dried first or seasoned as some call it. It is not as good green to burn.
20170908_153550.jpg

Back to trimming the downed tree. I will have a log left after I finish.
20170908_150044.jpg

Pulling the log to a safe area. I will not burn a log. Good for a post or lumber.
20170909_142710.jpg

I found a place for the log. The red iron horse pulled it there for me.
20170909_144357.jpg

Another little walnut tree being crowded by limbs and vines. We will rescue this tree.
20170909_145943.jpg

Now. That is much better.
20170909_150544.jpg

Time to say goodbye for the day. Let's take one last look. We have accomplished a little today.
That is what we want to do. Get something done that will help add value to our land.
20170909_181150.jpg

I have written this before. If you want freedom. You want some land. It doesn't have to be many acres.
Even 3-5 acres of land will give you pride and satisfaction. It is yours to walk on and build on.
Land will be very valuable in the future. As the saying goes. "They ain't making any more of it."

Thank you for following along with me in the journey to add value to the property/land.
I hope you have found this work and post to be interesting.

Francis

Sort:  

Another Frantastic post Francis! I love it! Now I can see what an actual hickory tree and it's leaf structure looks like. I am working on my tree identifications skills through your teachings. Thank you my friend. ;)

@rebeccaryan
Thank you for being such a good friend. You and @knarly327 have kept me going on Steemit with your support.
We don't know the future. But we know as long as we have life. We can continue to do what we can.
Spending time on Steemit with friends is so pleasant to me. We all keep in contact that way.

And my hope is that someday we can all have a "Great Steemit Meetup" in North America.
I will attend. I hope that many others will too.

Francis

You are doing just great Francis!
We hope this too. That one day there will be a North American Steemfest or Giant Meetup of some kind. :)

@rebeccaryan
Rebecca. Thank you so much. You are one of the reasons for my continuing to try so hard.
It takes time too. But, it is worth it.

Oh, I sent you some "smoke signals."
Take a peek when you have time.

Francis

Thank you Francis.

That red iron horse do alot,happy to see those homesteaders doing great on this community..keep it up bro! 👍🙌

@bien
I want to thank you for your upvote and positive comments. We need all the encouragement we can get.
It has been tough for me and I can imagine for many others. To climb the Steemit ladder to obtain some Steemit recognition.
And we have many more steps to climb in the ladder leading to the Steemit top.

Francis

Absolutely right @francisk,
But we are getting their. If we need more step to do it, let's always make steps to it.. Go for the homesteaders!

I have no property as yet but I am purchasing a piece of property in Israel

@cowboyk
Property is property. Doesn't matter so much where at in the world.
But of course. It makes us feel better if we are a part of it from time to time.
Even someone living in a city. They can go camp on their land or even build on it.
They too can plant the trees or flowers that they like.
Without land. Especially farming land. We all would get hungry. Ha

Francis

I have about four acres myself. It needs lot of work that I am not able to do at this time due to hip problems. Nice to know it is there should I need it.

Wow @pastorike 4 hecters is a nice one... Hip problems? What ar you doing about it... Sent a tip on how to naturally heal such in my blog post today. Check it out and all the best

@pastorike
Four acres is good. If you have too many acres to cared for. It becomes a chore and not a joy.
I have too many. But, I do have some time. I pray I do anyway. If not, then someone else can continue
where I left off.

Francis

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :)

@ipkiss
Thank you for your support. I really appreciate it. Without my friends on Steemit. I can do nothing on Steemit.

Francis

When we bought our house one of the main selling points for me was the variety of trees- we have at least 3 large hickories and a handful of young ones growing in our yard. The kids love collecting what few nuts the squirrels miss.

@rarintugo
Thank you for your reply and upvote. If we can get some good information to post. We will get some participation from our Steemit friends.
I am glad you have hickory trees growing on your land. We don't have to have a lot of land to do that.
Walnut trees are good to. We buy shelled walnuts in a store at times during the cooler months.
Eating them is so good. And good for us.
You are teaching your children the right way.
They will remember what you have shown them regardless of where they move to in life.
We have a lot available to choose from. Each one will decide for themselves what it will be.

Francis

All the trees are interesting. You've been doing A lot of hard work. Thanks for taking the time to share with us.

@countrygalk
Thank you for noticing that we at least do a little. A little is better than nothing.
We don't set any records. But we keep on adding value if we can.

Francis

It sometimes is a massive job to clean up a property that has been let grow wild. We've been busy for the past six years saving some good trees and cutting bad, as well as planting more. It gives us great satisfaction wen we look back and see what we accomplished.

@cecicastor
You are right. The task to clear and clean up can be huge. But, with persistence. We win.
As you say. It is satisfying to look at what we were able to do.
I hope that many that like freedom and elbow room can get some land.
Just growing some trees and nothing else can be a happy project.

Francis

Wow, you're on a roll Francis! Congratulations on another great post! Reading your post and looking at your pictures reminds me that I need to be cutting and splitting up some firewood!

@bluelightbandit
Thank you for noticing my efforts. I appreciate it. It takes a lot of time. Those that post on Steemit can spend a lot of time trying to add something interesting for the Steemit family.
But, that is how we will build up Steemit. Putting some effort in our work.

Francis

I love it thank you for sharing

@mannyfig1956
It has been my pleasure for all of you.
Thank you.

Francis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65017.48
ETH 3454.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50