The wonderfulness that is separating chives

in #homesteading6 years ago

For they did multiply, and it was good!


I have had a few mounds of chives that had moved with us to our farm 10 years ago. By a miracle they have managed to continue to live and are surprisingly hardy little buggers. I had them planted in the ground but ended up digging up the mounds and setting them on the top of the ground. There they sat for the last 5 years until now that I have decided on a final growing location for them. I know... I am a super lazy ass, but it would not have been right to plant them again only to dig em up and move em again.

I had 2 mounds that had not been cleaned of grass yet so I decided to use them for the first row. More to say I started planting in a row and hoped it would make it to the tend. In reality the single mound got about 7/8 of the way through the 15 foot row. Luckily I had a second mound that had a small smattering of little chives, but they were growing so they finished the row out perfectly.

IMG_20180502_141725288-1.jpg

It is just a single row at the moment and it sits next to the new asparagus rows that I planted yesterday. Each row has a single run of soaker hose that provides the water. I have it running every other day right now since the temps are low enough and the soil is still moist.

IMG_20180502_153659352-1.jpg

The 2 larger pots on the left are the other chives that need to be broken up into rows and the 4 pots all the same size on the right are shallots. I got a bag of them from a CSA box a couple years ago and decided to toss them into soil. I am very happy to finally be putting them into the ground so I can see how big they will get. The chives will take at least on more row, if not two, then the shallots will get a row to themselves.

IMG_20180502_141732849-1.jpg

It is so nice to see the chives all spaced out and with plenty of room to spread and grow. I hope beyond hope that they blow the hell up but I don't want to have to ask people to take chives since I can't sell them fast enough. The old laws of supply and demand.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

nice! I love it when plants keep giving, and giving, and giving.....

Totally! This is becoming my perennial garden now with the asparagus and the chives/shallots, aside from the peas. I am putting a row of winter onions and a few herbs in to round it out.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70