Receiving JOY in the Post! - Silkies Arrive Safely

in #homesteading6 years ago

We've been breeding Silkies here on the farm for about 6 years now. They are beautiful! We recognize the need to refresh some genetics so we ordered some Silkies from a reputable breeder of White Silkies.

They Arrived!

The birds are shipped priority with all the essentials so they arrive safely. The postal service does not put them on a truck for delivery to the residence. I had to go to the office and pick them up first thing when they arrived.

divider

Silkies Bred here on the Farm

These pictures here are of some of the chicks that were bred right here on the farm. They are a variety of colors. Each time they hatch it's like Christmas waiting to see what we got. Not many of ours are pure white. They range from grays, buffs, paints to splash. They are unique and adorable.

divider

A Beautiful White Hen!

She's grown up quite a bit now! This beauty is from the batch that arrived in that postal package. They are filling out so wonderfully. I am so in love with the white Silkies! Even with the daily struggles of life I get to find joy in these fluffy little birds.

Steemit Mom @findingjoy Divider Image

Thank you for sharing this time with me!
Thank you for encouraging me with your comments and votes.

Mamakirbs working daily @findingjoy

Sort:  

They sure are some beautiful birds, I enjoy hearing and seeing them on the live shows with @daddykirbs!

Thank you 😊. I love that you can hear them during the show @daddykirbs, I think they have a sweet chirp.

Woo hermano, excelente post, mucha suerte y exitos para tu blog,un saludo desde Venezuela:')

I love silkies! Their innocence can be very humbling. And you will sure love those fluffy and puffy plumage. I suppose you also breed the silky bantam too.

Yes I love the fluffines of the Silkies ❤️

They certainly are remarkable and beautiful birds! We have never kept any "exotics" (just Rhode Island Reds), but it might be fun to try, one of these days.

We have Rhode Island's also, I just have always loved the fluffy Silkies. I used to have one that would come when I called her. You should get some, you'll fall in love ❤️ .

They are cute! Thanks for sharing!

Those silkies are adorable. Congratulations on your new silkies. Enjoy and have fun with them!

Thank you 😊

Great Homesteading. Thanks @findingjoy

thank you :)

@findingjoy You are right, that hen is beautiful! Great post

They are cute! We just got rid of all our regular laying hens in favor of Muscovy ducks. The chickens were so troublesome, plus wouldn't sit on their eggs to incubate. Thinking about getting silkies. Are they good layers? What do you like about them above other breeds?

Silkies were one of my favorite chickens growing up. My family owned "Mother Goose Hatchery" which happened to be the largest goose hatchery in the USA at the time. Brings back so many fond memories of showing my Silkies at the 4-H fair. Our kiddos are raising quail right now for a homeschool project. It's neat to see them learning how to care for animals. Thank you for sharing these fun pics!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85