preparing for summer, produce on the balcony

in #homesteading6 years ago

The sun is out again and it is time for our little piece of urban homesteading again

This year I have added another planter and put in the seeds

So this weekend we bought some plants and planted the seeds for what will hopefully be some bountyfull additions to our meals

IMG_1034.JPG

the plants in the first pic are blueberries (want to reach at least one blueberry muffin) and rasberries

I know that those grow really big but hope to keep them in check while providing berries at the same time (tips are welcome)

In the planters behind the berries we have 2 different salads that we can cut and they should in theory grow back and then something new.
A flower called Nasturtium that should in theory be edible and make a nice addition to the salad.

then there is my herb ladder

now its just blank earth but in a week or so we should be starting to see results (depending on Swiss temperatures)

  • basilicum
  • parsley
  • chives
  • dille
  • mint

And since we really use a lot of mint in the summer for tea and in food I added another hanging planter.

IMG_1033.JPG

IMG_1036.JPG

And then last but not least. I really liked my strawberries last summer. they just kept coming and tasted really nice so I went for them again and added some newcomers. There are 2 little plants that will provide us with cherry tomatoes and one with peppers. I know I promised @surfermarly to order seeds from their site but this will give me a kickstart and you cannot have enough peppers.

IMG_1035.JPG

Hopefully they all take and we get a nice harvest this year.

Do you live in the city and have a city garden as well? I really like getting that own produce on the plate, it tastes so much better.

anyone else growing edible flowers and what is your experience??

Sort:  

Wonderful city garden @felander! I grow my own vegetables, berries, herbs, potatoes... I love it!! As you say: it tastes much better! And it’s fun! Last year we grew edible flowers too: kapuzinerblüten (I don’t know the name in English, sorry). They are a bit spicy. I added them on pasta dishes and pizzas. Very tasty! By the way, I'm crypto Newbie Dolors ;)

ahaaa. there you are :-) welcome to steem, following you now

and these are the same flowers, orange ones... looking forward to use them (if they start growing)

Home grown food - the best kind. No worries about chemicals and stuff and at a reasonable price :-)
Okay I am not saying that it's the easiest thing to do because I have done it and know the time and care it requires but the results are worth it.

I just wish I could move to a place with a garden... but we have to make do with what we have... this works as well

Pretty cool concept. Its always nice to be self reliant. More so considering they jack up the food prices during the summers!

ye, it just adds that extra to the cooking to have stuff thats homegrown, even if its just a little bit and its always nice to have some plants around, might as well be able to eat them

Nice little garden you have growing there!

I love growing stuff, have a whole balcony full of herbs :)

thanks, I just like cooking with fresh herbs and they make food taste sooo much better, especially if you grow them yourself

Great Garden. I just did The same thing this weekend. I had a lot of yard work to do and I tended to the berries in the yard. I don't live in the city like you so it makes it a lot easier. I'm not far from the city and my yard is small but I am still able to plant fruits

hey, not that amazing of a comment so enjoy the flag...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60