Quickly Changing Chicken of the Woods-Or Is It?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Well friends, my excitement about finding a "wild" chicken of the woods mushroom may have been for naught. I'm posting these photos so that my Steemit friends who know mushrooms better then me can have a better look.

The shelf seems to be thinning out along the edge, and you can see a ruffle beginning to form. It has rained for the last two days, so the bottom is dripping (hopefully resulting in the spores being planted along the rest of the trunk!) It also seems to have a "baby" on the bottom left side. The top feels a bit fuzzy.

As I said in the original post, I am not a mushroom expert and we will not be consuming this specimen until I get an official nod that this sucker won't kill us dead. So here's some more pics, and I'm wide open to suggestions as to the species. We consider this a great learning moment!

TWO DAYS AGO

0717171943c.jpg

0717171943d.jpg

0717171943.jpg

0717171944.jpg

0717171943b.jpg

ONE DAY AGO AND TODAY- NOTICE THE BEETLES

0718171524.jpg

0718171524a.jpg

0718171524b.jpg

We are on the west coast of Central Florida and the growth is on an oak that is dying but not completely gone yet. Hope that helps!

VIDEO HERE:

DQmadpNVtB7sqN8kqhppi4EQSpBL1QQqCT5QcJ8d2aDZVpS_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Hi @farmandadventure, it is definitely one of the bracket fungus :

But I don't think it is the Chicken of the Woods :

This page suggests some of the bracket fungus are deadly poisonous - so beware :

We get bracket fungi regularly on our birch and sycamore trees - but I haven't eaten one yet 😵

Thank you for your great comment! I braved the mosquitos to take a video:

It doesn't look like a chicken mushroom to me. The bottom does look like the right color. Chicken mushroom is a late summer early fall mushroom for us. I usually find them in early October

Unfortunately, it isn't. Dber has identified it in a comment above. Check it out if you have a minute, it's really quite a good read! Still hoping we've got CotW somewhere out here....

Phones dying but ill take a look more closely when i get home. Mean time how firm was the flesh

I didnt press on it, too afraid I might break it off and the whole family be mad at me Lol.

lol, I meant to randowhale the post - here comes another!

@dber got you a $3.72 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@dber got you a $3.72 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Took a video:

Loading...

Im here with it now. VERY spongey, not firm really.

Interesting shroom, I don't know what this could be, but I do know we got eatable mushrooms growing on tree's also, think it's best to ask an expert, thanks for sharing #keepsteemin

I believe that dber has found our shroom! If you have a minute, take a look at his comment above. This is a learning experience for us all and I am happy to share🌻

got chickens and mushrooms plenty here on The big island. also wild goats and pigs..hungry..It's hunting season.

Go get em! We are very fortunate to live in the tropics where there's wild food all year. Hope you're following me, there will be more on foraging! (following you too, I'd love to see your area!)

Of course I am following you!! You are welcome to come see me anytime..what area are yo in?

We are in West Florida...sounds like you're in Hawaii??

Yes, on The Big Island

I'm no mycologist(sic), but it doesn't look like it has the usual characteristics of a toxic shroom.

And according to my research, there are no toxic look-alikes to the chicken mushroom. Still hoping!

Nope, just the tofu mushroom. That's toxic in my book.

Really cool post @farmandadventure. Thanks for sharing. I'm an aspiring mushroom connoisseur as well. 😊 🍄🍄🍄🍄🍄 out of 5

Following you too!

I might get outta hand with this mushroom thing! It's too much fun scouting for them. I will def be posting more finds and hoping the community helps me solve the mysteries. Dbers comment is the bomb-diggity! Check it out if you have time.

Ah dang! Keeps searching!

Ohh really interested

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54