It's Baking Season Again!steemCreated with Sketch.

Ok, for me it's always baking season since I bake from the farm for income. However, there's just nothing like fresh Banana Nut bread made from scratch with my heritage recipes (granny was from the mountains in Kentucky) and some hot tea with cozy slippers!

1022171244-1.jpg

1022171205.jpg

Or Pumpkin Pecan...

1022171407-1.jpg

1022171344b.jpg

Or Chocolate Zucchini...

1022171412.jpg

Orrrrrr Lemon Poppyseed....

1022171558a-1.jpg

Are you more of a cookie monster? Well feast ye eyes!

1022171728a.jpg

1022171732a.jpg

1022171732b.jpg

All made by love and a wooden spoon. A lot of people think it's the recipe and for sure, a good recipe is sometimes hard to come by. The recipe is the science of a baked product, but I'm here to say that TECHNIQUE is by far the most important ingredient!

1022171008.jpg

Not that stand mixers (I have 2 Lol), electric beaters, and food processors don't have a place, but when you are baking the only way for the crumb to be soft, tender and loving is to mix by hand. Machines overmix and they don't know when to stop! It is their job after all....

0513161924a-1.jpg

I have some very fond memories of kitchen time with my granny, and to be honest, it's the most important part of baking for me as I teach my sons and daughters how to do it. All 5 of my home schooled children get trained as well as acquire their National Food Manager Certification. Anyone that can read and write can take the test, which a lot of people don't know. One of my daughters got certified at 11!

My son handing out samples at the market. After he did this, we SOLD OUT for the day and he sharpened his sales skills...

1023170932-1.jpg

Much love to you all and let's hope for some cozy evenings by the fireplace with warm tea and cookies and our loved ones💗

Picture_20170614_205351326.jpg

DQmZKa5QaQvouotpbDbKm7dZq8HeazAFJTVX2TAtp2qcvwJ_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Now I am hungry. What time is the next meal?

I love baking, it's so much fun! The problem with me is that I eat the stuff I bake lol.

Sounds like a great problem!

Lol but not if you eat too much like I did.

I was all done with eating for the day till I read this. Oh my, your goodies have my mouth watering. I had an old Granny from KY as well and cooking with her are some of my favorite childhood memories. Thank you for triggering them for me once again.

Pouring out some ol kentucky corn juice for our grannies! Those memories are the gifts that keep on giving....
My granny also had better fried chicken than 70s KFC, drank bloody marys at breakfast, and ate salted homegrown sliced tomatoes at every meal. Man i miss her!

Mine cussed like a sailor, was always playing solitaire with her little dog, Sugar in her lap and made the absolute best roll out dumplings. I've never been able to recreate her chicken and dumpling gravy to this day. I know she used lard for everything. What wonderful memories. I'm gonna have to write about these.

Hmmm Banana nut or Pumpkin for me please!

Your breads look wonderful! And those cookies....making my mouth water! I like to bake too and about the only time I use my stand mixer is when I'm kneading dough. I bet yours is the favourite stand at themarket. :)

You mean "needing" dough ;0)
I'll see myself out Lol...

haha..yes, that's exactly what I meant!

OMGoodness! Lemon poppyseed please!
You have outdone yourself with all that baking.

Sold out? Oh yes, I can see that!
Congratulations!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @farmandadventure to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Don't forget to check out the sponsored writing contest! 125 SBD in prizes!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thank you! I'll be baking 3x the usual amount this week plus brownies. I am going to need a vacation soon.....wish me luck!
And thanks for the originalworks vote! Internet hugs back to you!

Yum!!! Makes me feel better about not having an electric mixer too! :D

You must be an amazing cook!! I love how you added job skills into as well, that is a wonderful idea for upcoming children, and socially as well! Any good tips for raising dough without the oven on?

Ways I have proofed dough with no electricity in a stainless bowl covered in plastic wrap or thick kitchen towel:
*next to a warm hearth
*next to a wood-burning cast iron oven
*in my truck that was in direct sunlight with a window cracked about .5 inch (need a temp guage to make sure it doesnt get too hot)
*in a tent with the zippers zipped
*in a cardboard box i painted black on the sides. Black on top got too hot in the summer.
*in a cold frame with the glass raised a bit
*in a 3-gallon mason jar beverage dispenser. Be careful with glass though!
*next to a campfire
*next to a rocket stove after the fire is out but the bricks are still hot. That one was a small batch and a bit tricky because the rocket stove was small and cooled quicker
in a plastic bag on the porch. This actually worked really well in the winter (Florida) no snow but it was about 40 but that bag warmed quickly and stayed pretty stable. I think it was a turkey roasting bag...
*in a crockpot set outside. It was an oven/slowcooker combo with glass lid that has a vent.
*in the warm laundry room (dryer was running but it was going to anyway right?!)

I always use some kind of small ventilation to help prevent the temp from getting too high and killing the yeast. I ruined a few but once you get the hang of it you can make all kinds of adjustments! Have fun!

You are AMAZING!!!!! I can't even begin to describe my excitement right now!!! I'm copying this to my computer for future reference! After how many batches i have ruined, I about decided to give up during these months, not anymore. you made my entire week!! month!! I'm just so happy!! baking is a hobby of mine when all goes well, and when it doesn't i sit and pout!

I bet there's even more ways to do it, some i wouldnt be familiar with since I dont have to deal with snow and the northern climate. Most of all, have fun with it and you'll have a list to share too🍞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28