Migrating My Broilers Due To Massive Death

in #homesteading6 years ago

Agriculture is not for those who are faint hearted especially poultry birds. I used to think it was going to go smoothy but i was disappointed recently.

For like a month now my chickens in the farm have been falling sick. I did not study any course related to agriculture when i was in school so i barely know what to do when animals fall sick. Though we have been into farming business longer than i can remember but we have never tried poultry. I decided to try them out and i stock 40 of them (broilers) in my farm. I bought them when they were two weeks old.

It has not been good for me in the past few weeks i have recorded a lot of deaths among my chickens. I have been on the road due to steemit meet ups so the worker in the farm takes care of my chickens in the farm and my younger brother assists me with the ones at home.

Got a call from my mum yesterday that i should come do something bouh the chickens in the farm. She told me most of them died already.

Then i was with @honourmaus @olanrewaju and @harbysco as at that time. I had to rush back home the day she called.

On getting home i decided to just go to the farm and bring the remaining ones home. On getting there i was so disappointed. Chicks that were previously 40 now remains 13 and most of them were still looking sick.

I felt bad but as a man i had to gather myself together.

It Was In The Night That I Went To Pack Them

IMG-20180303-WA0086.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0080.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0079.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0082.jpg

see how dirty their coop is

IMG-20180303-WA0089.jpg

I guess mum needs to sack the worker. Guess he is tired of working on the farm. He does not take care of them at all. Everywhere was just messed up

Their feed is filled with dirt

IMG-20180303-WA0078.jpg

This Is All That Remains

IMG-20180303-WA0085.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0042.jpg

I already had a place prepared for them at home. All i just did was to pour some dust on the floor

IMG-20180303-WA0069.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0059.jpg

IMG-20180303-WA0064.jpg

After preparing the place i put the chickens in there. I gave them new feed and put glucose in their water.

Some were still looking sick but when i woke up in the morning all of them were still awake.

IMG_20180304_072937_4.jpg

I already called in a vet and he will be coming to check them up..

Not really counting my loss but thanking God for the gift of life..

My advice to people who are trying to venture into poultry business is to be strong and be ready for anything. Most importantly take care of it yourself.

Thank Yhu For Reading....

Sort:  

sorry for your loss sir, its indeed a thing of pain for us poultry farmers when we watch our investments wipe away just like that, i wish you recovery of all your losses, one more thing... always buy day old chicks and vaccinate them yourself, don't patronize those people that broods them to 3 weeks, most times they don't vaccinate them well.

I noticed too. Thanks dear

Oh so sorry bro
I perceive coccidiosisis because of the dirty environment and hope they follow the vaccine schedule
Poultry is lucrative and profitable but deaths due to disease like this are what makes it discouraging to people,
Could recollect when I had started my first set of layers bro, it was like hell more than half died
Take heart bro

My advice to people who are trying to venture into poultry business is to be strong and be ready for anything. Most importantly take care of it yourself.

This summarizes it all. Even if you know something those birds could make you look ignorant sometimes

yeah thats true. But the funniest thing is that the set i collected after them which were at a day old are all still intact. All of em

I'm sorry for the loss, like you said it's not for faint hearted. Livestock farming is risky , very risky because of disease and how fast they could spread among the birds. Also, cleanliness in poultry birds is of utmost importance. Aside quality feeding do well to get them immunised against some common poultry diseases. Goodluck in your future trial.

The mistake i made from the beginning was not taking care of them myself

O I commend your courage sir! Sorry for the incidence, but I know that even more increase in productivity on your farm shall be seen in due time. Like every trying time, it soon fades to give way for increase. Welldone as you promote agriculture in this age.

-@yowanetwork

Thank yhu for the consoling words

Quite heartbreaking account of good investment gone sour. Waste no time in showing the worker a way to door. I sympathize with you man. Cheer up. Resteemed

we are just waiting until we see another person. Thanks for the resteem sir

As a livestock farmer, you need not to be far from your animals and also for chicks you can observe whatever is wrong with them studying the colour of their faeces. So next time try study the color of the faeces of it changes from the normal grey or black colour.

looks more like green this night

if the colour of the faeces is green, then they are having a viral disease known as NEWCASTLE. the best way to treat this is to use LASORTA for them. just go to a veterinary store and explain to them that you need lasorta for the number of birds you have. and pls note that this medication is only meant for the birds that are still agile. all birds that are seriously sick are not to be vaccinated

Thanks bro

I feel your pain my brother, poultry business is quite strenuous, and like you said, it is not for the faint hearted. I am a witness😱, it aint a nice experience.

I remembered 2008, when i was going to unilorin to obtain their remedial form and my mum was to follow me, she took more than 100birds(layers). In the morning, we found out that soldier ants had attacked them and more than 50 died , although my sister tried to save the rest but they eventually died. My mum was heartbroken and she stopped the poultry business. Now , we only rear chickens for family consumption.

The business takes alot of hardwork. I even like your courage. Dont worry, it is a matter of time, we keep learning everyday. You will get out of the woods. Persistence and hard work are the needed ingredients.

Keep soaring high above all hurdles. #youngfarmersclubfarmingtofeedthenation

wow that was a huge loss. i am sorry about that

A huge one....

Thanks and thanks for the upvote😘😘

So sorry for your loss bro. I'm planning on investing in poultry farming and from what you explained here, I've learned a lot. Thanks for sharing your experience.

You are welcome

one of the reasons am kinda of afraid of going in livestock farming, especially poultry.
there diseases comes so fast and spreads rapidly.

thats a huge loss man, so sorry...

Thanks man

Sorry for the loss

I already called in a vet and he will be coming to check them up..

You should have called them before now

i have not been around

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87