You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finally Getting My Seeds Started Indoors

in #homesteading6 years ago

Onions from seeds are a easy grow. the more light, the better, what variety are you wanting to go? my favourite to grow are walking onions, they make new bulbs on the top of each plant all summer long and you can replant to grow more little ones over the summer or keep letting them go ontop of the plant till fall then harvest and plant in the ground after the first snow so they come up in spring, or dry out and take inside and plant in spring

Sort:  

Usually we buy onion sets from a local store and they are smaller onions (I am not sure what kind). Are the walking onions a generic onion?

The onion seeds that I am trying are called Ailsa Craig Onions, I think. They are supposed to be a huge onion that gets to 5 lbs. I got them from Baker's Creek and when I saw them I thought I would give them a try. Thanks

walking onions can be referred to as a few things, most comonly egyptian walking onions or winter onions, they make fairly small onions unless you let them grow a few seasons, their a white onion and the greens uptop are Very tasty i will come back and link a picture and some info to them

Yeah that would be great and I would really appreciate it! I will have to look into those types of onions because most of the onions we eat are usually smaller, so they sound like they might be a good fit. Thanks again!

Perennial onions are so cool! I also have egyptian walking onion and I picked up local seeds for 2 kinds of perennial chives and one perennial leek. They are germinating now, so excited lol!!

nice i have onion and garlic chives that come back every summer, i wanna plant leeks this year,, my walking onions came of my great grandpas farm when they moved to town in 1968, bought my grandparents house 3 years ago, still have the same patch, the heads on them must be huge by now, i just take the bulbs off them and plant the bulbs each year, last 3 years i plant all the bulbs i get but only harvest half of what i grow, keep making the patch bigger and bigger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53