You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Our Own Fruits and Veggies in Panama - Wellness Wednesday by A Panama Mama

in #homesteading7 years ago

This is a fantastic post!

My wife and I made a planter box for our backyard this summer and planted a few things. It's difficult to grow things from seeds, especially with the weather like it is here. You're much closer to the equator, so I envy your fruit trees.

I actually planted some lemon seeds from a grocery store lemon back in the summer and successfully sprouted about 9 of them. Unfortunately only 2 or 3 of them are still viable at this point. I'm still excited that they even came up in the first place. They're inside now, as they don't like the winter.

I can't say I have any tips for you. You're much better off with the soil and temperatures in Panama than I am up here in the US, so I'm sure with a little bit of coaxing, you can grow whatever you want.

You may have seen @papa-pepper's account since he's a popular Steemian, but he does many posts about gardening and such. You might enjoy taking a look at some of those. He also does videos, which can be helpful.

Best wishes growing things. Be sure to keep us updated!

Sort:  

Thanks for all the advice. I have seen some of @papa-pepper 's stuff, but I need to look again. He seemed to have a wealth of knowledge. Cool about the planter box. My husband wants to do raised beds around our house (mostly for flowers) at some point. Cool that you sprouted lemon seeds from seeds you got from a grocery store lemon. I thought they made all seeds not reproduce - like watermelon seeds. I'm not sure how it is here. I hear there are some things we can't grow here because there is so much water - stuff rots out, mold is an issue. Thanks so much for the comment. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55