Urban Edibles - SeptembersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Hello Folks,

For a while now I have often thought about making an urban wild edibles post regarding what I find on the 5 minute journey from home to my daughter's school.

So, I stuck my arse in gear and ventured out this afternoon on a dull and damp day.

Please read the information within the links below for correct preparation (if required) of the edibles I find in this video. e.g. Rowan contains parasorbic acid which can cause indigestion and kidney damage. Heating or freezing the berries will neutralize it to sorbic acid. Also, Elderberries (Sambucus nigra) are poisonous when not ripe and should be cooked prior to consumption.

Apart from the vast array of Dandelions and thistles, the first wild edible I find in the video is the Rowan tree (aka Mountain Ash).

Rowan
Red Clover
Ribwort Plantain
Shepherd's Purse
Stinging Nettles
Hawthorn
Elderberries


If you liked this post then you might find this one of interest too. https://steemit.com/bushcraft/@eggmeister/the-holy-grail-of-fire-starting-video-has-finally-arrived
I might do another video around November time to see how many of these and other wild edibles are still available.



Bye for now,
Robster.

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Looks like you have a nice selection in your backyard! Our berries didn't get enough rain this year unfortunately. We have stinging nettle, clover, and plantain here too.

Plenty of rain in UK, so cool and damp this year that we're hardly had any BBQs :(

Stinging Nettle is such a superfood, making a tea from it is a bit of an acquired taste lol.

I love foraged food. Folks would be amazed at how much food and medicine they walk past everyday. I've only recently started foraging fungi. I wanted to thoroughly educate myself first. To prevent any oopsies. I still need to double check on a few of them.

Yes, people are so blind to the wonders of nature. I've got two dried and shredded birch polypore fungi in storage too. Suppose to be an excellent immune system modulator, anti-viral, anti-tumour, anti-bacterial properties.

Wow, those are a rare find here. I'm still dazzled on a continual basis on what is available if only we look.

We're lucky in the UK regarding Birch Polypore, not so lucky for chaga though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23