You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Sweet Aji Pepper Germinated - The Container Garden With PumpkinsandCats

in #homesteading7 years ago

That's good news @pumpkinsandcats, I wish you success with these peppers & broadbeans.

I was wondering if you could you tell me when would be best to sow runnerbeans (Scarlet Emperor) please? It's something mum always did each year but her dementia now means I'm running blind this year and I'd like to carry on for her.

Many thanks,
Rob.

Sort:  

I have never grown runner beans but you want to sow them from April indoors and plant outside in May.

You'll need bamboo canes for supports tipee formation is ideal. If growing in containers 1 plant with supports per round tub with good soil depth. Atleast a foot deep.

And use crushes egg shells around the base to keeps sluhs and snails off

Mum used the 2 x tepee method, approx 4-5 foot apart and a cane running across top between them. I'm wanting to get my daughter involved so may sow indoors first in April so she can get more 'hands on' experience :)

Thanks about the crushed egg shells tip, I know in previous years those little blighters play havoc with the leaves.

Cheers,

Rob.

Children love growing dont they!

They certainly do :)
Katie enjoys a bit of bushcrafty stuff to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61378.33
ETH 2960.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49