Quail Eggs fried to perfection.

Having mentioned my excitement on my quails laying in this post the other day I had to share yesterday's quick lunch. Fried quail eggs on sausage with cheese, olives, and roasted red peppers. Simple, but oh so delicious.

dec16eggs2.jpg

I usually eat pretty easy dishes and looking at my bowl brimming with quails eggs on the counter I thought, "Just fry some up and mix them in". And I did just that. They are SO good and of course I fried them in butter so the edges of the white crisped up nice. Mmmmm.

dec16eggs.jpg

Luckily the little darlings lay like crazy, so I can be as generous as I want with my egg eating.

I may do a post on keeping quail. In my comments yesterday a fellow Steemian was asking me questions about them and I thought, "well, I am hardly an expert, really just getting into it, but I can share what I have researched and what I have found thus far". So look for a 'how I am doing it' post about quail in the future.

For now, go enjoy your day wherever you are and find something delicious made with eggs to enjoy. Here is to a day hopefully filled with good simple food and hopeful dreams for new challenges in Homesteading or Art.

Sort:  

I just tried quail eggs for the first time this past Thanksgiving while eating out at a Japanese restaurant! One was soft-boiled with bacon wrapped around it (delicious) and the other was... raw. I couldn't handle the raw lol! Fried looks pretty good too!

Yes, boiled they are so sweet and tiny! I am next going to boil up a batch and and pickle them. Mmm I love pickle! They are so addictive, the quail I mean. I realized I could start saving up the eggs I am now getting to set already for more to add to the flock. I saw the 'roos' doing their job yesterday morning. I was going to wait for one of my hens to go broody, but I might be getting out the incubator tonight and getting it up to temp and set a few days worth. And some of them are so sweet, they come up to me, look up at me and sit on my lap. I had hopes of using some as a meat source, but I don't think it could ever be the main cluster i have now that I hatched and get eggs from. They are too sweet. Maybe if I raise some in a larger light pen, so they are more wild, I wouldn't feel as bad to eat them. I love quail to eat, it's one of my favorite after duck and pheasant, but right up there. Sorry, I will never shut up about birds! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01