My quail are finally laying their own eggs. The circle of life!

My quail just started laying yesterday and it was exciting.

dec12eggs.jpg

I have always kept chickens, hatching my own usually, so the time from egg to their own eggs is often almost a year. These little coturnix quail are amazing! From hatch (which is only 17 days) to adult laying hen is only 8 weeks! My chickens, which I hatched in April, are still NOT laying! So, yeah, I was pretty excited to see these darling little bundles in the quail house.

They started out as little eggs I ordered in the mail and that post is HERE if you are interested.

My advice to any beginning homesteader is consider quail. It is amazing how quickly the turn around. And they need much less housing as they are smaller. I am providing mine with a run on the ground with lots of branches and brush to hide is, as is their natural habitat. Some people keep them above the ground in wire cages. I want them to have a good life and be able to experience as much natural surroundings as possible, especially since they are providing me with delicious eggs so quickly.

oct27chick.jpg

Have a great day and if you can't keep quail, then at least get some of their eggs at a health food store, they are worth it, believe me.

Sort:  

Those eggs look so cool! And awww, the wee baby. <3

Yea, we really got to get on this quail train, thanks @phoenixwren for directing me to this article!

been homesteading myself for a number of years - started raising quail two years ago, they are great little birds. Ours are all white. I prefer these eggs over chicken eggs - though you have to use about 4 to equal one, the small eggs are great on appetizers or even little hard boiled bite-sized treats! Glad I found your post - look forward to following your happenings!

quail birds is very nice, all people love this birds, have a nice day

Have never tried quail eggs before

You should do. They seem to have more yolk per white than a chicken egg, so taste richer to me.

I would love to hear more about how one raises and cares for quail - seems like a ripe topic I've never even considered.

My aunt has chickens - but they take a lot of space given the size of her backyard - maybe quail would be a good way to downsize, depending on their productivity.

They would be, maybe I'll do a post about my own experience more so far and what I have read about it. Oh and they lay almost every day! Good production.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45