scratch built herb drying rack

in #homesteading6 years ago

Well, I had a bit of wood left over from building the little pantry under the stairs and rather than see it go to waste I put it to good use to make a herb drying rack. And I'm not going to lie, I’m pretty proud of this looks so much better in the flesh than it does in the pictures 😀 I really wish i had the skills to build/make everything i need and is something i will continue to work towards where possible



Cutting the wood to size



looking back i should of marked up before cutting as the space is off oops 🤭



drilling the holes for the dowels



using the wooden block as a stop to cut the same length dowel



glueing in the dowels



looking good and ready to stain varnish and mount



staind, varnished and screwed to the wall just needs filling up now 😁



First bunch of herbs drying “sage” from the garden

Well that's the first bunch hanging up to dry, the sage was damaged when cutting the grass so instead of letting it go to waste a quick prune and some twine and it'll be used to top up my supply. Next up will be some lavender to dry thinking more medicinal use as opposed to culinary on that one, as with the rest of the herbs that are starting to come on in the garden.

I'll keep you updated, and start planning my next DIY or upcycle project to get on with!

One that thing, Is anyone a participant in the steembasicincome project?


All the best

Dan

Sort:  

Dan thats amazing! The pantry is looking awesome. I reckon theres only one way to get skills and thats to practice!!! Im impressed. You can definitely call yourself a Brit with those DIY skills.

ps thanks for dropping the link on discord.. thats where i saw it. Sometimes i miss posts but dont want to miss yours!

@riverflows thanks really appreciate the kind words 🙂 it brought a smile to the face.

That's a top job you've done there Dan.

I'm hoping to nick some of the neighbour's spare apples later this year and try drying thin sliced 'rings' on long suspended dowels (if all goes to plan). I got the idea off BBCs Edible Garden with Alys Fowler :)

I'm not quite as 'up north' as you are.....
..... Leeds ;)

Sounds like a great idea I've got a few apple trees's but I don't think they will put out much fruit this year, if they do ill be keen to try that two. @eggmeister still a northerner though 😄👍

You'll have to post about it if you manage the dried apple Dan :)

Of yes, still a Northerner.

images.duckduckgo.com.png

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post is featured in my FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION 12 post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72