Growing from cuttings and greenhouse update

in #homesteading6 years ago

Well today was a good better day and I managed to get a few things ticked off in the garden and pre-empt a disaster.

I didn't quite get the large bush down that I planned to due to rain but I should get that finished before the week is out.

These pictures are after a serious amount of weeding, and i'm really happy how it's coming on, If only the sun would shine a bit more in the UK 😆






I’m super happy with how much I’ve managed to fit in this year, hopefully as long as I keep an eye on the watering/feeding of the plants this dense planting tactic should pay off with major crops in a small space, hopefully, it won’t belong until this happens. However, i can’t stop yet I need to think ahead for next year!


First Tomatoes setting for the year! Exciting times

Propagating a greener future

I’ve got nothing against buying plants, to be honest, I love it! I see it as an investment in our future and the wildlife it attracts. However, I do have a few criteria to this though it has to be able to pay itself off in some way, be hardy, a perennial and be pretty if possible.

What I really love though is when I make plants from other plants be that from saving seeds or in this case from taking cuttings and propagating a new plant.

I'm not going to go into the details of how I did it but i'll put up the pictures hope these these will take and i'll have another load of plants for next year

Time to put this organic rooting compound to good use, smells like death mind 🤢



Comfrey “bocking 14” great for wildlife and your plants


Comfrey roots really well from a cutting from the roots


Two more red currant plants for the garden


Two more gooseberries one red one white variety

8 lavender plants to add to the borders

I also took a load of cutting of mint and sage but didn't get any pictures hopefully these will all take root and will be great to fill gaps in the beds

The grapevine

Man this thing is getting unreal I can’t stand up straight in the greenhouse house due to how much space it is taking up, granted I'm tall at over 6 foot but this thing is seriously getting in the way (but I love it) looking up at the thick canopy above me I can spot at least 15 bunches of grapes that are starting to swell and fatten up. No doubt I'll have to thin these out a little but a much better prospect than the 2 bunches I got last year!



Thanks again for stopping by, If you liked what you have seen why not consider an upvote, re-steem or follow. Comments mean more than votes so please leave one below I’d love to hear what you've been up to.

All the best

Dan

Sort:  

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Hey!!!! I see You!!! There's a suprise! Hello You!

Sun in UK??? HAHAHA you are funny. I remember my first winter there. I said to Jamie... when does the sun come out? And he just looked at me AND LAUGHED.

Love love love what you are doing. Cuttings are the best... free plants!!! Woo!!!

Did you know you can use honey as rooting gel? Here's an experiment... do some with honey and some with the store bought stuff and let us know the results!!!

Ha we do get it occasionally then it disappears for a month... 😀

Great shout on the honey another thing i wasn't aware of, ill have to do that experiment!

We have had some sun! Dont slate it, it wont come back ha ha!

Looks like you've had a great day propergating =D I hope they all take for you.

Thanks @pumpkinsandcats , it'd be great to get a bit more of what we had earlier on in the month would really push the garden on a bit!

Yeah true, I do think we needed that storm though. Do the ground and plants well. My waterbutt it not full yet, so had been using tap water till the storms!

Congratulations @digitaldan your post had been selected for an upvote worth ~$2.50USD as part of the @ecoTrain minnow support project. Your upvote will come soon!

I hope this encourages you to keep writing amazing posts and making this world a better place!.




JOIN US ON DISCORD
https://discord.gg/XwAmRWW

Love your greenhouse! Isn't it more fun to propagate your own plants for free. You have so many plants, it's awesome. Can't wait to see how everything grows in your garden.

Thanks @laundrylady i love it to 😁 yes propagating our own is much better as lobg as i dont run out of space to quick. Likewise with your garden keep us all updated 👍

Congratulations @digitaldan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70