Symbiotic GardeningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20170704_145106.jpg

I have read a few posts recently and felt overcome with a need to post some info. I have a list that I use for my planting so that I can help the garden help itself. I do my best to keep the garden work as low as possible due to the giant pile of work that is never ending here. So by figuring out ways to ease the work-load I save valuable time and money by how I plant my seasonal crops.

Using symbiotic techniques, that have been in practice for maybe hundreds if not thousands of years, I can avoid certain soil issues that I would have to deal with if I were to plant individually. There are some basics:

Fixing nitrogen in the soil; legumes fix nitrogen in the soil you should use with plants that need high nitrogen and avoid fertilization

Chemical releasing plants; Black walnut releases a chemical which tends to supress the growth of plants by preventing germination (avoid planting near it) Rye hay has the same effect so is great for using as a mulch after your plants have matured, marigolds release chemicals that drive away some bad insects and their root systems keep some ground bugs out.

Physical attributes; Use tall plants as shade for plants that need partial shade, use ground covering plants under deep rooted plants keeping the weeds down clover and carrots

Multiple attributes; Corn, squash and beans, beans feed nitrogen to the corn and squash and climb the corn, corn keeps squash borer out and the squash vines keep vermin from the corn and beans.

I have a full spreadsheet I use, here are a few I gathered from random websites over the years, I will list the ones I have tried and seemed to work, I will be trying others this year to add to my collection. On my spreadsheet I do keep track of those that work and those that do not.

Asparagus and parsley
Basil and tomatoes (as long as you keep tomatoes in upright position)
beans and peas with carrots and cantaloupe - I also plant with savory to deter worms seemed to work
lemon basil and cabbage
peas and carrots
tomatoes and carrots
passion flower and carrots and clover
thyme and carrots
chamomile attracts hover flies which eat small plant killers
I plant wood sorrel (clover) all throughout my garden, it keeps weeds down and fixes nitrogen also edible, sweet-sour
cilantro and anise do well together
I plant garlic throughout the rows to prevent fungal disease and aphids
horehound - awesome bug killer by attracting beneficial bugs that eat plant killers, I grew this in the garden back in NY trying it for the first year here
hyssop near cabbage
I plant marigolds throughout the garden, each variety seems to have beneficial bug repellent properties
oregano with legumes, oregano keeps bugs away, legumes fix nitrogen
mint and cabbage
mint and tomatoes
electric daisy and tomatoes
electric daisy and basil
peas and peppers

I like the huglekultr idea since I can inter-plant things for my summer crops, but I will be setting up huge rows of bales for bale gardening greens next year, and will leave one bale every four or so to put insect repel-ers as a break and for my symbiotic aspect.

By planting symbiotically you can avoid soil disease, depletion, and over all soil stress. I plant in areas that are useful to my plants, instead of rearranging them I use beneficial plants to control the soils resilience. For instance, if you have a wet spot in your garden, throw some comfrey seeds there it will thrive and the leaves are full of calcium, phosphorous and potassium for mulching, the root is super beneficial, just do not consume.

Well please up-vote and follow if you like my content. I will continue to post similar articles on plants, homegrown foods, gardening and homesteading ideas. Again thanks for dropping in. Remember that this is not medical advice nor do I prescribe anything to anyone. This post is for educational purposes only. Your body is your temple, treat it well. Have a great garden!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

So much great informatiom here! Thank you for sharing this. I practice a few of these techniques, but some I have never even heard of. I use a homemade garlic spray when certain issues occur, what a great idea to plant the garlic throughout your garden to prevent those issues from happening. So glad you posted this.

I am a curator for an educational group called @helpie, our goal is to find good content and get it more of an audience. I would love to feature this in our Helpie Weekly Curation Report if you are ok with that. Hopefully to get more people to see your post and you will be paid for your content from the curation post payout (it is split between the featured authors). Our goal is to lift you up and build your community. Find me on discord @llfarms if you have any questions!

WOW! Great! I appreciate that. Inter planting is such a great way to keep bugs at bay and keep production at a max. As small farmers we need all the help we can get. We can open doors in order to close the doors to big corporate farming methods. Chemicals can be avoided. Thanks for the great post!

Great post, excellent info....amending the soil is so important. Thank you for the companion planting list, I am going to rearrange some of my garden planting plan now! Cheers:)

Good timing for this post. I’m really trying to get away from row planting and I want to do a lot of companion planting in groups here and there. Thanks for the list! It an be over whelming to plan out a garden, especially when you throw in companion planting and permaculture.

well permaculture is symbiotic! Is there a way to upload a file here? I might just upload my spreadsheet for people to download, tons of info there... I'll have to do some reading to find out.

I’d love to see it if you get the upload figured out!

Horehound is also symbiotic with tomatoes. They do better when horehound is grown nearby.

It is one of those plants that should be here and there in your garden IMO, what a great addition!

Great post! I do the symbiotic plantings in my raised gardens, too. I just makes sense! Thank you for sharing!

Yes. Since I do not use chemicals to feed or as pest control. Having it all work together is quite a science. Hopefully by sharing this information we can educate everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.43
ETH 3773.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51