Introducing Debbie's Back Porch

Hi, All.  I am new to Steemit and thought I should introduce myself.  I am Debbie of Debbie's Back Porch

Debbie's Back Porch is a community of Facebook groups that I started to provide a space for people to learn organic sustainable growing, cooking from scratch, safe home canning and preserving, and home crafts like sewing, crocheting, etc.  The Debbie's Back Porch groups are special and unique because our mission from the beginning was to provide a civil and kind space for folks to learn, without any rudeness or harassment.    People seemed to appreciate that and we grew pretty quickly.

As the groups grew, I found we were answering the same questions over and over, so I started a blog and then a youtube channel to answer those kinds of questions.  The idea took off and the youtube channel grew.  You can find the youtube channel here.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkwxzm1C58WJsEGwCZrXsTQ

Most of my video are about cooking from scratch, but there are several on tips and tricks, old time practices like making kraut, scrapple, sausage, safe canning procedures, old time lime pickles, bread baking, mulching, saving seeds, organic weed control, etc.  

My friend Rosie at @wholesomeroots suggested I join Steemit.  This is my first Steemit post.  I still have a lot to learn but I figured I should dive in and get started.  I learn best by doing.  I will post a link to my Facebook organic gardening group.  The rest of the groups can be accessed there as linked groups.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/Debbiesbackporch2013/

Thank you all for allowing me to join and participate in the Steemit community.  I am looking forward to your posts and hope you like mine.  

Sort:  

I am so glad you are here Debbie! I think you will find it very comfortable!

Welcome, it is certainly nice to be able to read useful items, rather than the crypto whatever. Looking forward to your posting. Upvoted followed and resteemed............billytwohearts

Saw you $upvote this post, so I decided to come and show you love!!

Thank you. Trying to figure out how to return the favor.

As you please...

Good job! Welcome to Steemit! New follower here!

Welcome Debbie!
I'm sure you'll enjoy the Steemit community. Have a look at the #homesteaders tag and follow folks whose posts you enjoy. Did your friend explain how Steemit works? I wrote a post about the basics, like how a resteem is the equivalent sharing a post on FB, but an upvote is not the same as liking a post on FB. An upvote means you believe in a post enough that you are willing to spend money on it, but others can't see that you voted on it. By resteeming an article your followers can see it. You can also easily share articles onto twitter and FB.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@moderndragon/new-to-steemit-here-are-some-tips-to-help-you-understand-how-it-works

I'm very interested in having a look at your groups on Facebook and will also forward your details to my Brother-in-law @zalife who is an avid urban homesteader and is in the process of turning his whole yard into a food forest :)
Following you
Keep well
Lizelle

Welcome Debs! I'm sure you are going to do brilliantly. I am looking forward to reading all your gardening tips and will really need your tips on what to do with excess fruit and how to preserve them. All the best!

Good to see you here! Im new to steemit as well and a beginning gardener, so i expect i'll have quite a bit to learn from you!

Glad to see you started on Steemit! Steem on!
Upvoted, Followed, Resteemed!

welcome to steemit! I think you find this to be an awesome community. following :)

Debbie,

Welcome to Steemit, glad you are hear. Lots of good people hear to help you get started, with tons of advice. The are a lot of homesteaders, prepers, gardeners and off grid folks that I am sure are looking forward to your posts! Anything we can do to help please let us know! Good Luck...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54