Homesteading Ideas - Pickled Eggs - Challenge: What are you doing to claim food sovereignty for yourself or your community?

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190127_131805.jpg


Since we got our 2 hens last summer, we occasionally find ourselves with more eggs than we need. Today I thought I'd try my hand at pickling some of those delicious free range Eggs from our hens, Dorothy and Annie (aptly named by our children).

IMG_20190127_135532.jpg


It's a pretty basic recipe that I've created which is easy to try.


Boil 10 eggs for 7 minutes
cover with cold water and leave for 10 minutes
Place the eggs in a kilner or large jar
cover with 1 pint (568ml) of distilled malt vinegar


IMG_20190127_130531.jpg


Place 2 to 3 sprigs of fresh rosemary in the jar along with a a large spoon full of crushed chilli's (I also put a some dried garlic in)
Place in the back of the fridge and leave for 4 to 6 weeks


IMG_20190127_133621.jpg

Thanks for checking out my blog.
DC🎼


This post is for the
What are you doing to claim food sovereignty for yourself or your community, and why*?


@homesteaderscoop

Sort:  

Cool! As a vegetarian I eat lots and lots of eggs..... I have never had a pickled egg, seems kinda strange since I make kimchi and all kinds of fermented stuffs... I'm soo trying this thanks again, could you use apple cider vinegar?

Hi Kimmy!
I know you can use apple cider vinegar as well as distilled malt vinegar. They are a really tasty snack yet rather tangy. I like to make a snack plate with the pickled eggs along with some Ryvita, Ham and Olives.
Good luck and let me know how it goes.
DC🎼

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78