Repotting the Lemon Trees (and THIS) Made Them HAPPY

in #homesteading6 years ago

There is all kinds of new growth and budding flowers on the Lemon trees in the Daddykirbs Garden! I little while back I did a video about transferring the trees into new pots to give them more growing space. (see video below).

There was some concern raised in the video comments about not fertilizing the plants. Well, I am fertilizing them. I will someday do a video about how I fertilize naturally in the garden. One way is compost of course. That's very common. Another way may be a little less common. Maybe not less known, but maybe a bit more embarrassing. You may have guessed it already

Urine as fertilizer

Yep, pee pee. I will urinate in a gallon pitcher that I keep in the greenhouse, then fill it up with water. This is a nice diluted natural and fantastic fertilizer that you can pour around the base of your plants. I will do this whenever I repot plants to give them a good start in their new container.

I would suggest not peeing directly on your plants! Make sure the urine is diluted and poured around the plants in the root zone. Why waste a valuable resource?



Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!



Don't forget to head over to my "Cool Curator" Contest to try to win $10 SBD!

https://steemit.com/contest/@daddykirbs/be-a-cool-curator-a-daddykirbs-contest-to-win-usd10-sbd-5-week-4-winner-announced

Sort:  

REALLY? I had never really thought about that. But hey free resources is great. Thank you I am going to try that. My lemon tree died, sadly, but I am going to start another one this Spring. Excellent post as per the usual

yes, Get all the boys in your family to contribute. They will love it! LOL

pardon the off-topic comment…

I made a post today regarding a large-scale idea to advance Steem’s development, and it was recommended to share with the witnesses to help get this in front of the audience who’d be in the position to do something with/about it:


The $1 Billion Steem Development Fund: How Steemit Inc.'s Stake Could Be Best Allocated To Grow A Thriving Network Of Applications And Users... / https://steemil.com/steemit/@rok-sivante/the-usd1-billion-steem-development-fund-how-steemit-inc-s-stake-could-be-best-allocated-to-grow-a-thriving-network-of

would be cool if you could have a read, and IF you feel it’d be a great idea that’d serve the community, forward to anyone in particular you know who might be in a position of influence to advance the discussion.

either way, I thank you for your continued service to this community.

cheers,

Years ago, a friend of mine had a reputation for being a great gardener and he always said the secret to his flourishing veggies was -- well, pee pee. He used to urinate around the base of the young plants. I scoffed at him and figured he just didn't want to tell me the real secret.

Maybe I should send him a message and let him know I finally believe him.

Believe it! LOL

You're a smart man, @daddykirbs. Urine is great for many different types of uses. Whole alternative health dedicated to it.

Thanks for sharing so openly about something we all have access to for free. ;) Upvoted, will FB/tweet and also resteeming like @joannereid. Hi, Joanne! ;)

I did hesitate to share, but it's a valuable resource that most often just gets wasted.

Yeah, not sure I could pee on all my plants. LOL I have too many.

Maybe just reserve this practice for a special garden up close to the house. Broad scale this would be very difficult to keep up with LOL

See @qberryfarms, I just need to pee on it!
Thanks @daddykirbs

Not ON IT! LOL ... but yes, it is a great fertilizer.

@qberry is so guilty of ON IT! I have had to get the water hose out many times. I will say if it will keep the deer away he can pee on all of it.

Another good natural fertilizer is eggshell water. I used to keep an old garbage can filled with rainwater (or hose water if there was no rain) and would throw eggshells in there and put a lid on it (it smells pretty bad). Then I'd use it for watering. It works great, and it's basically free. :)

I have not heard of that one. I do have lots of egg shells. I'll keep that in mind. Thanks.

Fantastic natural resource usage...

Well some people put urine therapy into practice, so I do not find it strange that it is used to give some benefit to crops. I just did not know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48