Free Mulch for the Homestead? - When Power Lines are Trimmed

in #homesteading6 years ago

What happens with all that mulch created from the tree trimmings when the areas around power lines are cleaned up?

Most people never think about that.


I think about it because I use a LOT of mulch on the homestead. I use mulch for my gardens, my orchard, to make compost, and to spread around the goat and chicken pens. There's no way I can afford to buy enough mulch to provide for all of those needs. This is where a relationship with tree trimming companies comes in real handy.

man in bucket

All that mulch has to go somewhere.


In some cases the tree companies have to pay to dump the mulch. In other cases they have drive some distance to dump it for free at a designated place that will process the material for resale. If you talk to the guys on the truck you can probably talk them into dumping it on your property. You will save them time and/or money. Either way they are normally happier.

mulch in truck

At the time of this blog post being written I haven't received this truck load but I'm talking to the guys to see if I can provide a place for them to leave that load. We'll see what happens!


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

daddykirbs blogSolar Power is Power! - Gain Independence on the Homestead
daddykirbs blog2017 AUSTIN FERMENTATION FESTIVAL - Daddykirbs Visits
daddykirbs blogHorse Therapy - My Special Needs Son Sharing Time With His Sister
daddykirbs blogHot Wire Fence! - Moving the Solar Charger
daddykirbs blogHanging out at the Austin Fermentation Festival! Good Vibes 😉


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.pngbeekeepers of steemit

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

I'm so sorry for the duplicate post! Steemit kept telling me it had failed.

I have done this and was able to get a truck load from the local power company after trimming trees! It was really impressive just how big the pile was! Besides getting some small sticks and what not it was worth getting it....saved me some $$$

Shared to twitter to get folks to stop and ask the ones doing the cutting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89