From Log to Luxury: Hand-Carved Spoons

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

My partner Austin had been asking for a wooden spoon for ages, but it seemed like every spoon he came across was machined and cookie-cut. He decided that in order to find the perfect spoon, he would simply make it himself.

Spoon carving.jpg


Now? He’s hooked! (pun semi-intentional)

It started with some small spoons, some long spoons, some “hobbit spoons”. Now he has made kuksas, fruit bowls, trays for jewelry + smoke, and some of the sweetest spoons I’ve had the pleasure of eating with.


Spoon carving (1).jpg


When I asked Austin what his favorite part about carving was, he laughed and got quiet,

“I can’t even think of where to start. There's something about chipping down all these shavings from a chunk of wood and discovering a spoon inside, I just love it."

Spoon carving (2).jpg

I have been amazed watching his progress in carving by hand. At first he had three very simple tools, a sloyd knife, a hook knife and a hatchet. After working for a short while with different woods and designs, he decided to branch out his tool collection—collecting various shapes and sizes of knives. Now he is back on the train to simplicity, seeking to slim down his tool selection to quality essentials. Maintaining a few tools in prime condition allows them to glide through the grain, working with you instead of for you.


Spoon carving (3).jpg

This pattern of quality work produced from quality tools applies as well to our own bodies and minds. When we have clarity and sharp focus, we can accomplish tasks mentally. When we have ability and balance, we can accomplish tasks physically. Sharpening the focus of our lives has been a goal we are turning towards. This goal means spending more time doing the things that nourish our minds bodies + souls. For Austin, this means spending as much time as possible experiencing nature, supporting himself through woodcraft + taking time to learn how to do things himself.

For more shared information on Austin’s creations, tips on spoon carving or woodwork, feel free to comment below, check out his Etsy account OmForestCrafts or ask him on his Instagram @nitsuasa. Thanks for stopping by!

Please follow along on our journey towards self-sufficiency and unshakeable contentment.
Till next time, be sweet, stay wild! -- @coyotom

Love ina cup! (10).jpg

Sort:  

What a great hobby. It turned out really nice.

Saw this post on Discord and had to check it out. They're absolutely amazing! I'll be adding you on Instagram and will favorite your shop on Etsy. I'm on Etsy also. :)

Thanks for the compliments and support! What's your etsy? We'd love to check it out!

Hi! I found you on Instagram and Etsy. I wish you all the success on Steemit!

You can find me on Etsy & Instagram-- KokibyIvana :)

Those are absolutely gorgeous. There is something really special about carving that down and finding a spoon in there!!

One of my favorite bits is seeing how the exterior of the wood, the outer layers of bark and grain, give so much individuality to the spoon/spatula/cup inside! Little knots and whirls of grain are just lovely!

These are really cool!
I LOVE the idea!
Definitely going to head over to etsy and check it out! I need these in my life...
Thanks for sharing!

right on! glad you vibe with them! he is constantly creating, so if there is anything you're particularly interested in, give us a hoot ☺️

Absolutely!
Actually ordered a coffee scoop! I need one anyway and that one is awesome!
Probably will want some mixing spoons in the future, but I gotta save my $$ haha.
I love wooden spoons, and right now I have a bunch of made-in-china bamboo ones instead. Which is better than plastic... but not the same.
Looking forward to scooping my coffee with my new spoon! :D
Have a fantastic day!

Thank you so much @squishysquid! 😂
We definitely understand minimizing outward cash flow, and are so grateful for your support! May your helping us bring you help threefold! 💫

Awww, thanks!
Yep, this crazy thing called 'life' tends to be expensive... Haha!
:D

Beautiful! Love the one in the middle top of the collage!

Thanks @minighomestead My next post on his work will be focused on following a single piece all the way through from wood chunk to wood art!
I happened to get a great tip from a sweet steemian about that 😉

Yay!!! I'm so glad to hear it got to you safe, we love those little scoops! Thank you so much for your support @squishysquid 💝🙏 may the scoop carry all uou need.

These are beautiful as are the pictures. :)

Thank you! He has finished up some really beautiful cherry spoons since this, I have yet to get the whole whole process photographed of a single spoon yet, but it's coming soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66671.81
ETH 3087.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68