You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHY WE HOMESTEAD - Part 5 - BEING CONNECTED TO THE WORLD WE LIVE IN

in #homesteading7 years ago

I know where our food comes from. But I don't get where people say the animals milk is only for their offspring. I don't know a bout sheep and goats, but I do know about cows and cows produce more milk than their calves can drink. Calves are weaned off their mothers milk so they can get the nutrients from other food sources thats why they graze in pastures.

I agree with you about people not having a connection with their food. I grow what I can on my patio of my apartment and it taste better than what I buy in the store. And I love teaching children about gardening , It is even to the point the children get excited when they see a frog or a lizard and come to me to go see them. If we don't show and teach the children about nature who is going to teach them? It is the people who know about these things job to teach the people and children about them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49