๐Ÿ˜ฒ A Huge Egg offered up by one of our laying hens. ๐Ÿ” I want to hatch it, Johana wants to eat it. ๐Ÿฃ

in #homesteading โ€ข 7 years ago

๐Ÿ‘ I slipped home between ball games yesterday and Johana had just collected this monster big egg. That's Huge Honey, let me get a picture.

Huge egg.jpg

Today I'm thinking...We have 3 hens sitting on eggs right now, why not slip this baby under one and hatch it?

Big eggs create Big chickens that lay Big eggs I'm thinking, But Johana says it is a double yoke egg. ( Twins ) So will end up on our plate someday soon.

Meenwhile back at the coop...

3hens.jpg


๐Ÿ” Nothing here but us Chickens, which will sit on and hatch any reasonable amount of eggs regardless of who layed them.
And once hatched will raise any chick placed under her ( usually at night while she sleeps ).

๐Ÿฃ The new chicks are very independant and only need the hen for protection and maybe a little warmth at night. Mother hen's are very protective and aggresive towards the other chickens that are not very nice to younger birds or predators

๐Ÿ˜œ Hey Johana, how about a nice all dressed omlet? ๐Ÿ’‹ ๐Ÿ˜œ

Thanks for reading and supporting my blog, I ๐Ÿ’— Comments...

My Signature Post ---> [Hop on My Love Train ( with music )](https://steemit.com/signature/@codypanama/signature-

reference-post-only-might-work-for-you-too)

Life is Good @ steemit.com ๐Ÿ’—

Sort: ย 

Hi i think I would be tempted to eat it but my curiousty would want me to try and hatch it to see it if is acutually twins. If you decide to hatch it please share in the future what comes of it if you decide to eat enjoy your big egg.

Johana will have her way, she's the chicken boss. she's the home body type and I'm the go away to work fellow. The chickens are meant to be her stay at home job. Hoping to get up to 1-200 eggs per day in the future. That alone will be enough to keep us in plenty of coin.
Maybe I'll photo or video the egg opening?
Cheers

That is so cool I do hope you'll take pictures. How many chickens do you currently own right now? My entire flock of laying birds was killed off by the dog I owned. By the time I found out it was my dog my flock was depleted. I honestly thought it was wild animals getting them till the day i found my dog on my chicken. So now I am waiting for all my babies to grow up into adult laying hens. I am hoping that by febuary I will have eggs once again. I too plan to make money one day on my eggs. Take care

we only have a mish mash of 10 or so right now. I'm going to purchase a specific type when the time is right and just keep 1 or 2 breeds that are known to produce 2-3 eggs a day if fed well. that way we will have less to maintain.

Fresh eggs from happy chickens are the best. Most of us city folks are getting older eggs from sad birds. Enjoy

I've heard some sad stories indeed. 1 Steemster rescues chickens from a hatchery @ $1 a bird they are in such poor condition. less than the cost of meat?
Cheers

thats big ahahhaha

Ended up on my Breakfast plate, It was a double yoker. :-)
Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62571.47
ETH 2429.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66