Bountiful Nature's Sacred Gift,steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

The morning was crisp and cold as the first light sifted through the evergreens. Ashley got there before the dawn and settled into his sheltered vantage spot, awaiting more light to begin his trek deeper into the dark forest.

He'd read about how the natives fashioned a moose call out of a cone of paper birch bark and he'd made one just for the hunt. He decided to give it a try, put it to his lips and made the sound he'd heard many times before--the mewling sound of a bull moose in rut. Within seconds the call was answered, and then the crashing sounds of antlers raking brush.

Ashley shot a moose.1.jpg

He made the call again, and again was answered, but the sound was farther away, higher on the mountain. Slightly dismayed, he made a third call. Suddenly a bull moose came crashing out of the forest and onto the road, drool dripping from its mouth, antlers rocking back and forth in a challenge to its unseen rival.

The moose stood sideways in the road. Ashley rose, took careful aim and pulled the trigger. The bullet hit its mark but the bull barely noticed. He turned and began to charge, antlers to the fore, barely fifty yards away. Ashley aimed and fired again. The moose staggered but didn't fall. He kept coming. It took the third shot, directly in the heart to fell the courageous beast who finally gave up his life to feed another.

Ashley shot a moose.2.jpg

This account sounds brutal to those who do not hunt, and yet this is how it is in the real world. Life feeds upon life. My son now has enough quality food to nourish his wife and three children through the long winter. There is something holy and authentic about feeding yourself from the environment you live in.

Ironically, his wife is vegetarian and their meals are largely meat free. They still refuse to eat chicken, pork, beef and lamb, and other commercially raised animals, but they make an exception to wild game. They eat fish from the river; lots of salmon and trout. They eat venison and elk and even marmot, which when prepared properly is a true delicacy. While they have not mastered the art of using every part of an animal, the way the natives used to, with every new animal taken, more is utilized and less is wasted.

Ashley shot a moose.3.jpg

A moose is not an easy animal to butcher. It weighs several hundred pounds. It must be drawn and skinned, halved and then quartered. It's heavy, bloody work. Each segment is then stripped of sinew and tendon. Each cut of meat must be recognized so that the tenderest parts aren't mistakenly ground into hamburger. Then it must be wrapped, taped, labeled and frozen or smoked.

The day of this butchering was warm. The yellow jacket wasps or meat bees as we call them, were out in force, trying to get their fair share. Ashley got stung six times before this moose was finally skinned and quartered and put into temporary storage boxes. Though I helped throughout, I did not get one sting. I made a pact with the meat bees long ago. Don't sting me and I won't destroy your civilization. Ashley laughed when I told him that when we started. He wasn't laughing so much when we were finished.

Moose in boxes.jpg

It appears that this moose was having a bad day all around. When skinned out, we noted a deep puncture wound in his left hindquarter. At first we though it was an exit wound from one of the three rounds Ashely had shot, or perhaps a bullet fragment wound. But Ashley was talking to a taxidermist friend who told him that he often found either wounds or scars on the hindquarters of moose. Apparently, when moose battle over their harem, the first one to give up the fight often gets his butt jabbed by the victor as he turns to flee.

Ashley shot a moose.4.jpg

So not only did this poor moose get shot on this day, he got his ass kicked to boot. Perhaps if he'd not been so adrenaline fired and angry, he might have been a bit more discerning when he heard that birch bark moose calling him into battle. Maybe there's a lesson here for all of us.

moose in fridge.jpg

At least this moose gave his life for a good cause. He wasn't killed on the highway by a logging truck, nor did he get bogged down in a swamp and drown. He's now feeding my grandchildren, making them strong, protecting them from hormone, pesticide and antibiotic laced factory farmed meat. And that, I'm sure, will also benefit my great grandchildren.

ground moose.jpg

Two freezers totally full. We are ever thankful for this bounty and will praise this noble beast with every delicious bite. Nature is indeed a loving mother.

Sort:  

Great story, that is a lot of good clean meat for the winter. I laughed about the meat bee truce! ahah!

I did make a truce with them this year. I was working on the roof of my cabin and there were several nests under the eaves. They were actively building and laying eggs and they would fly all around me as a warning, but they never stung. That's when I made that deal: don't sting me and I won't destroy your civilization. I was wary and respectful of them and they honored my vow.

It was fascinating to watch the nests progress throughout the summer. These weren't hornets nests where you can't see the egg chambers. These were the convex circular nests that are open on the bottom. The first eggs to hatch were in the middle and then they progressed around and around until reaching the outside ring. First came the larvae then the pupae and then the mature wasp emerged to dry out its wings and then (presumably) go to work for the hive.

I've always just destroyed those nests when I've found them. I've been stung more times than I can count. It was quite a different experience to live and let live with the meat bees. They have their place in this big picture and it was interesting and fun to watch their lives.

Thank you for commenting.

It's true, everything has a purpose. I keep honey bees, and they "KNOW" me.

It seems the less aggressive we are the less aggressive is everything else.

I remember so well - you both did a marvelous job there... how long did it take to get it all done? We had a tractor helping us with the lifting up back then (have to make sure to dig the pics out today :-)) and it was the whole family helping with cutting the meat and packaging it after the grown up males had done the skinning outside.... Many hours filled with happiness, adventure, hard work carried out together with the family and friends - with not one complaining about it .... I do not have to tell you the secret about how nourishing this is on top of all the benefits you already described in your post... Cheers from the seven mountains in Germany

tried to resteem and the arrow is green - but the post does not appear on my blog... hmmm

Something strange is going on with Steemit. Not sure if it's a DDOS attack or what. Your resteem isn't showing up on my home page. In fact, when I posted it, it didn't show up on the "new" screen either, but it showed up in my blog. Last week, I had one post disappear completely and not show up at all. I had to rewrite it and then repost it. In addition, I answered your previous comment and then tried to post it. The upvote took, but the answer to your comment continues to say "loading...." It's quite irritating. Don't know what's going on.

I had this "still loading" quite some times with comments I wrote in the last days... it is still Beta-Version, so let's hope things will be just getting better and better lol in my first comment to your post I promised to find the picturealbum of 1988 - ha, and I did!!! So here's our moose from way back then:

They're so big. I've helped butcher cows before and these moose are every bit as large. So much good meat. Thanks for the photo.

I did a lot of deer way back when and lately mostly chicken and rabbits and once in a while sheep or goat - the latter two you cannot (well.... against the law blabla) butcher at home any longer here in Germany.... the "club" is also about keeping old tradition alive so the younger generation can learn - this is our sneeky back door for many things we are doing... glad you liked the picture - rings so many memories for me... My (host) Dad died at Christmas two years ago and it is such a touching feeling to look at him on this old photograph (2nd from the right)

I read about your raw milk cheese with great envy. Most of the central governments over here forbid the sale or even trade of raw milk. We have two Gouda farms here that have their own cows and they can use their own milk, but the govt. inspection process is long, expensive and frequent, making the cheese very costly. We consumers cannot get raw milk from our neighbors without grave risk. I did make a contact with someone and got a few gallons, but it was like buying pot in the old days, concealing the jars in garbage bags, covering the bags with empty boxes in the car, etc. It was too difficult. I quit. Most folks around here just roll over when a new restrictive law is passed, reasoning that the government wouldn't pass these laws for no reason. Problem is the reason is to protect the factory farms and keep people from being too self-sufficient. 99% of the people don't care at all about that.

It is not as bad as that here, but it is sort of in a grey zone. Our farmer can not advertise for his milk - most of it he sells to a dairy truck which brings it to one of the big factories. One or two decades ago, many people from the village would buy their milk at the farm. Now most are either too lazy and just get their milk with all the rest in the store, or to brainwashed - raw milk is also here considered to be a big threat... hahaha (I know, it is not funny at all)

raw milk is also here considered to be a big threat...

The threat is from those who won't let us have the healthful foods we want and need and who force us to eat stuff that makes us sick. It's not funny, it's criminal. That's why it is our duty to ignore those rules and live our lives without cooperation with those who would enslave us for profit. Brainwashed, yes. These are scary times for the world.

Don't know if the movie "Idiocracy" made it to Europe. It's a very dumb movie, but it's message is clear. If you don't know about it or haven't seen it, I won't spoil it for you. Check out the trailer.

!

Found another problem while trying to figure out why your resteeming didn't work. (It didn't) I went to your blog and saw your recent post on cheese making. I went to my "feed" and it wasn't there. I checked to see if I was still following you. I was. I went back to your page, read, commented, upvoted and resteemed your post, went back to my "feed" and there it was, not like it had been resteemed but like it had always been there. I know it wasn't before because I checked back quite a few hours worth of postings. WTF is going on?

I have stopped looking much into the feed, coz I had this happening - I just check out on my favorite ones what they posted... was considering to put many others on mute so the filter would only give me what I am really interessted in - but indeed, some of the things that are going on are not trustbuilding into steemit at all....

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @citizenzero to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83