Sort:  

Only a few days old and adventurous. Love it! Is it just the 3 that you have? (mama and babies)

I will be posting the next babies today. We had two more born yesterday in all the chaos.

2 more! That's going to be a lot of work I'm assuming. Beautiful days ahead! xx

Two more means more milk in a month or so. They won't become too much work until they are two years old. We save the girls and the boy will either get sold or become meat.

In the fall of 2019 the girls will meet a male and have some kids then it will be more work. However this will be a good thing. Then I will have more milk and be able to make cheese.

How much milk does it take to make the cheese? Do you make soaps from it too?

It takes 1 gallon of milk to make 1/2 pound of cheese. Most people don't realize it takes so much milk to make cheese.

I have made goat milk soap in the past. It isn't hard to make but I have a standard recipe that I use all the time. We seem to get our favorites.

I had no clue on the amount of milk it took either, which brings me to my next question, how much milk do you get from 1 goat per time you milk her? So many questions. Sorry if I'm a bug with this. I am intrigued.
And I am guessing they do not milk for long either.

No worries about the questions, I love to chat about these kind of things. I actually made cheese yesterday and was going to blog about it but forgot. I also wasn't sure if anyone would find it interesting. Next cheese making day I will do a blog about it.

As long as they are not a new mama I can usually get 1 L per goat per milking. So If I have three goats I will get 3 L in the morning and 3L in the evening when I am milking them full time. Right now I am just milking to help the mama's because the babies can't keep up with production. In about a month I will milk the mama's in the morning only and the kids will have the day time milk. After about 2 more months of that the kids will be weaned and I will milk full time. Goats can milk for 3 years before they need to get pregnant again. This is not the case on our farm. Our girls always manage to get with our fella.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37