Mrs. Canadian Renegade vs. Fruit Stains

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Let's face it, when you have kids, or are as clumsy as I am, stains happen! I am legit clumsy but at least now that I have kids I have an excuse for all of the food that ends up on my clothes when I'm out.

Confession: If I spill something on myself, I am totally going to blame it on my kids until they can rat me out.

If your kids love oranges, raise your hand. Raises hand.

If your kids end up with orange juice running down their chin like Niagara Falls when they're eating them, raise your hand. Raises hand.

The first time I laundered their orange stained clothes, I was not successful. But, having learned a few things from my own spilly tendencies, I hung their clothes to dry incase I needed to try again.

Pro Tip: The heat from putting stains through the drier will set the stain into the fabric. If you're not sure whether or not the stain was successfully removed, line dry it.

When my trusty all natural stain bar failed to do this tough job I did a quick online search. I really didn't want to turn to a chemical laden solution. I prefer all natural products where ever possible, especially for cleaning and even more so when it involves the kids. More than one website suggested pre-treating the stain with detergent followed by a water and white vinegar soak before laundering normally. So I put this treatment to the test and not just with oranges either. This particular laundry day we were facing orange, watermelon, raspberry, and sand stains. Did you know sand stains? I didn't, but I do now!

Stain ProfileLeft: Watermelon and orange concentrated around the neckline. Right: Orange and sand on the shirt and a big ol' raspberry stain on the pants.

A friend of mine lent me a pile of clothes for H so when I saw that big fat raspberry land on those cream colours pants I was mortified. I mean, sure, she has two kids already so she is highly aware of how messy the little critters can be but I still didn't want to hand back stained clothes.

Stain Removal Method

Step One: Pre-treat

  • Wet the stained area.
  • Apply a small amount of detergent directly to the stain.
  • Massage the offending area desperately.

Step Two: Soak
In a basin combine:

  • 1 Quart water (cool to warm temperature)
  • 1 Tbsp. white vinegar
  • Soak for 10 - 15 minutes then laundry normally at the highest temperature the fabrics allow.
  • Note: Because I had a few items to treat I soaked in a double batch.

Step Three: Optional

  • Pray a little.

Soaking ClothesYikes! That raspberry stain doesn't look like it's budging...and I am freaking out a little.

I left the clothes to soak and went on my merry way to do some other chores. After 10 to 15 minutes... okay okay, after about 20 minutes, because I got distracted, I came back to find that the raspberry stain was already starting to lift. Halleluiah! Because I thought those pants might be a goner. Maybe this was going to work afterall!

Raspberry Stain

And if all else fails, line dry! I don't have a clothes line where I am currently staying so I just tossed these over the balcony railing. The power of the sun can be harnessed for so many things: electricity, heating, stain removal...

Line Dry

The Results

So did this natural stain remover work? YES! Well, mostly anyway. The sand stains are still faintly apparent and the watermelon was being stubborn as well. After laying them in the sun for the afternoon the watermelon stains faded completely but the sand is still there. Because I dried them in the sun, however, I may be able to get rid of the sand marks if I repeat the process. I've come across stubborn stains before that were defeated the second time around.

Results 1:

Results 1

Results 2:

Results 2

For the skeptics

Missed Stain

If you're skeptical, here is a stain I missed treating. Sometimes I forget that my daughter drops food onto her seat where it has a chance to soak into the bum of her outfits. That same watermelon stain I was able to remove from the collar did not budge the butt without the detergent pretreatment. Another mom insisted that the Rockin' Green brand detergent I use was not actual detergent, because it is natural, and didn't work but I think this proves otherwise.

So if you're facing stubborn stains give this little diddy a whirl and let me know how you make out. Happy stain removing trails!

All photos and illustrations in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.


Canadian renegade Logo


Join Us On Discord

20180516_002249_0001.png

Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Mom and I are reading this. We have a lot of baby clothes and our clothes are stained.

We raised hands on the orange part hahaha. My baby brother and baby sister drip lots of juice when we eat oranges.

The booster chairs get lots of crumbs and they stain clothes too.

Mom will definitely use white vinegar next time, maybe she can get the clothes cleaner since the stains are already many washes old. There will be plenty more stains coming so we'll be ready.

Oooh! Those oranges are irresistible, aren't they? I considered scraping oranges until they're tidier but that wouldn't be fair, would it? Thank goodness I found this solution. Don't forget pretreatment direct with detergent before the soak. As for the clothes with old stains, try tossing them in the sun for a while, you might be surprised. It doesn't even need to be directly sunlight, just daylight (even cloudy) will do. And then keep enjoying those oranges! 🙃 -Aimee

I can imagine how the struggle to keep their clothes clean, I have some children who are always active outside the house, playing mud, playing jatropha tree, sap can make white clothes so black ,, I sometimes almost scream while washing their clothes, especially at that time we have no washing machine, ha ha ha ,, congratulations to enjoy your new happiness my friend

Oh my gosh! I don't know where I would even begin with tree sap? Have you found a way to get it out successfully yet? I am also wondering, has your new baby arrived yet? I hope life is bringing you happiness. -Aimee

Wow that really so many beautiful photography you have posted and all of them are really very very beautiful post.

Thank you very much! -Aimee

Thanks, I do the laundry, because she is in a wheelchair and can't; but I have NO training, so your advice helps! I will remember this trick and use it on the next stain I have to fight. :D

You're welcome! I forgot to mention that soaking the stain as soon as possible is also recommended. But I never remember to do that so my stains are typically dried, set, and a few days old! Ha ha! Sorry to hear your partner is in a wheelchair. I imagine that creates plenty of obstacles. My cousin was in a wheelchair and she was incredibly active in the community despite her limitations. She also blogged before I even knew what blogging was. If she were still here today I have no doubt she'd be here on Steemit. 🙃 Sounds like your partner is blessed to have your helping hands. Thanks for stopping by. If you have any other questions let me know and I will do my best to help. -Aimee

I always watch your posts, to pick up what I can! :)

I am the lucky one, she is the air I breathe! She has been my girl since she was 13. :)

That's great! Our hope is that we can actually provide people with useful, and sometimes fun, information!

she is the air that I breathe!

I am a hopeless romantic and you can bet that got me right in the feelings! ❤️
-Aimee

I am truly blessed, they told me I would loose her a decade ago, and that no medicine would help. That pushed me into herbals, in 2002; in a serious way. I am still studying and learning, but what I have found so far is really helping her!

She has MS, and I was told that is irreversible, unstoppable, and fatal. I found herbals they didn't know about, and she is improving! Her Doctor asked her last week, if she was walking any now. So I am hopeful, and her doctor is writing down the herbals I give her!

When I met her, she was 13, and I was 16. I was friends with her parents, and bought my first Ham Radio from her Dad when I was 12. She was pretty, and VERY Smart; and I was smitten. I never recovered, and never regretted it, LOL! Next month it will be our 41 anniversary, and I am hopeful for many more! We have two children, I am terribly proud of, and one grandson I am even more proud of!
:)

Seriously! This is the best! I hope Matthew and I are as blessed as you to have such a deep love and for so long. Your story is so beautiful and so inspiring. I am so intrigued about her progress and your determination to find something to help her get well. That is certainly true love. Hearing that her doctor is taking notes makes me hopeful. There are a few rare gems out there who are genuinely interested in helping others and learning.

Congratulations on all your life's blessings. I hope your journey to healing continues in the right direction so you can keep enjoying those beautiful children and grandson of yours. -Aimee
Ps. You write so sweetly about your love and your life and it really touches my heart. ❤️

You guys have made a good start, just keep loving! :)

Because of the MS, when she gets a normal sickness, it hits her a lot harder. I took her to the doctor Friday for a fever (a week ago) ; and her Doctor referred her to the ER. The ER admitted her 7 hours later.

I gave her a dose of colloidal silver for the temperature, before she collapsed which triggered the doctors visit. Once there, they started IV antibiotics and told me she would be there a week. With the silver, I knew the fever would break in a day, while the antibiotic takes a week.

Now, the fun part...I treat Debbie herbally with several herbs. She needs them every day, the Stinging Nettle is treating the MS, and the Fever Few treats the Migraines. All I need do now, is to convince the hospital staff to let me give her home made medicine. SOOO, I took the herbals, and went to the hospital to do battle. When I arrived, I found that the Doctor that had written the notes (her neurologist) about what I was giving her; had left Written orders to the floor that they were offer me all assistance in treating her with herbs that were being administered under his direction! They actually sent up the pharmacist to "help" me in any way he could. So I was able to treat her, Herbally, WITH the hospital's Help!

Her fever broke the next day, and that really confused them, LOL! I got her home last Monday, and our Dachshunds were thrilled! :)

Wow! Simply, incredible. I am so glad you connected with a doctor willing to keep an open mind. I am so curious, did the pharmacist come and if so what was their reaction? We keep colloidal silver on hand too but I didn't know it was good for fevers too. Very interesting. Oh, I bet those pups were happy! 😆 -Aimee

hhaha that was the hell of experiment!! Thank you! now i know exactly what to do after my bear-style raspberries termination sessions :)

bear-style raspberries termination sessions

LOL! Right?! I used to dread fruit because of the stains and now I can just shrug it off because I know how to better them stains! Thanks for stopping by! -Aimee

☺️☺️😊

Some spots remain always remember @canadianrenegade
images (4).jpegunnamed (1).jpg

Oooh! Those are some monster stains! I will probably invest in splash suits so I don't end up spending my entire weekend scrubbing mud out of clothes! Ha ha ha! Thanks for stopping by. -Aimee

a happiness when it succeeds in getting them back to wear clean clothes, a struggle that is not in vain, enjoy your family life

Yes! You bet I am happy when I can rescue clothes from stains. Thank you, I hope you are enjoying family life too. -Aimee

Congratulations @canadianrenegade! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40