Homemade Tomato Soup

A cup of soup on a cold day is like wrapping your tummy in a warm hug. There is something about the blustery days that make us slow down, huddle together, and crank the cozy up a notch.

Soup

One year, I just couldn't seem to use my fresh tomatoes fast enough and I needed to find a way to put them to good use quickly. I hadn't done much canning and I was particularly busy that year, which didn't leave time to experiment.

The fall had crept in and there was a chill in the air, in other words the perfect conditions for soup had arose. But not just any soup, it needed to be thick, smooth, and piping hot. I found a great paleo recipe that did the trick. While the recipe called for canned tomatoes I just used my garden abundance instead.

Peeling

Fast forward a few years and I found myself in the same boat. An abundance of tomatoes, a busy schedule, but this time, no access to my canning gear. We really dislike wasting food so Matt suggested I try making soup again. With a few more years of cooking under my belt, I decided to tweak the recipe and the flavour didn't disappoint.

I'm sure you could can soup but, under the circumstances, we decided to freeze ours. We pulled a container out of our freezer just the other week and it proved to be just as smooth and delicious as the first day.

Chopped

This particular recipe is quite large since I had an abundance of tomatoes to use. If you're looking for a smaller batch you can cut the ingredients down by roughly a third. Also, the tomato seeds can add a bitter taste to the soup when they're blended so it's ok if you lose a few during the chopping process.

Without further ado, the recipe:

12 cups Tomatoes, peeled and roughly chopped

3 Tbsp. Coconut oil

2 Yellow onions, diced

4 Garlic cloves

3 Cans Coconut milk (I use AROY-D)

1 tsp Dried thyme

2 tsp Dried basil

2 - 3 tsp. Sea salt (I use Red Himalayan)

Black pepper to taste

2 Bay leaves

Pot

Before your begin, you'll need to remove the skin from your tomatoes. If you've never done this before, check out our article on How to Peel a Tomato. Once the skin is removed, and the tomatoes have cooled, give them a rough chop. Some of mine had hard spots where the stems were so I cut those out as well.

In a soup pot, heat your coconut oil over medium heat. Sautee your onions and garlic until your onions are translucent and soft. Add your tomatoes, garlic, and onions to a blender and puree. Blend in suitable quantities for your blender. Return the mixture to your soup pot, add coconut milk and bring to a boil. Reduce your heat, add your spices and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.

If you're looking to make a full meal, this soup lends well to adding chunks of cooked chicken.

Enjoy!

All photos in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade. Canadian renegade Logo imgJoin Us On Discord

Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

The coconut milk sounds like an interesting touch. I've been using sour cream for a recent tomato soup like pasta sauce I've been making.

Yes! When I was avoiding dairy, I used coconut milk and oil as substitutes in my cooking. I was so used to the flavour that it tasted normal. I guess it's a bit of an acquired taste for some though. Thanks for stopping by. -Aimee

I changed to coconut milk in the curries and never went back.

Oh, I love a good coconut curry stir fry. Was planning to make Asian stir fry tonight but may just switch to Indian now. 😊

Nothing like yummy homemade tomato soup!

I couldn't agree more! Thanks for stopping by. -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69123.03
ETH 3739.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69