Spring continues

So I have been out in the woods the past couple of days looking for the elusive Morel mushroom. I came across some more beautiful plants and the remnants of an old home place. I love finding these old chimneys and think about the stories, fun and hardships that the rocks have seen.chimney.jpg Just down from this site there is what appears to be an old mill site. I am hoping to run across or hear about somebody that knows the history of this special place. It seems like the trail is an old road bed that follows a stream. Again so many feet of different types have packed the soil solid over time.
The Dutchmans britches, Dicentra cucullaria, are on their way out. Spring comes and goes so quick that it is hard at times to pause and really appreciate it.20180414_082604_resized.jpg
I love the Bloodroot, Sanguinaria canadensis. She is one of the first of the flowers to come up. It is actually allowed for use as a dewormer for livestock. Im pretty sure it is only Europe that allows this. Go figure we cant even use our own plants to heal our animals. From my understanding the extract is used. This is causing the plant to be over harvested throughout the Appalachians I had hoped this post would be longer but I am already late so guess the rest will have to wait for later. Enjoy every day you have!

Sort:  

I WILL UPVOTE AND RESTEEM YOUR BLOG POST TO MY 35,000+ FOLLOWERS. JUST SEND 0.5 SBD OR 0.5 STEEM TO a-0-0 WITH YOUR BLOG POST WEB PAGE ADDRESS IN THE MEMO.

I love all the wildflowers you shared. I haven't seen any Dutchman's Britches. Those are so cute! I am remaining hopeful and optimistic on the Morels. One Day!!!

Congratulations @burgeoningfarm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19