MIDWIFERY IN THE COUNTRY

in #homesteading6 years ago

Goshna 122.JPG

The first time I ever delivered babies I was totally unprepared. Willing. Excited. But unprepared. We were visiting our friends over the mountain. He came running in before lunch saying one of his ewes had been in labour for far too long, she was in distress and needed help "NOW!" My husband without a second thought volunteered me, Mrs-Hippie-Organic-Doolittle. His reasoning was that I had smaller hands than the men. My friend, despite being a very capable homesteading wife was not about to stick her hands "in there"! So off we went.

Goshna 055.JPG

The poor Dormer ewe was straining and obviously exhausted. Delivering the babies was not easy. There were three. They were literally tied up with each other. They were deformed. And they were dead. It was not a pleasant experience. In fact it might have put me off except that I cannot bear to stand idly by and watch an animal in distress. In the subsequent years I have delivered many babies, mostly sheep. Most of them survived. But the yellow coating over the newborn body is always a telltale indication of a stressful labour. I have learnt that there are a number of factors that influence a complicated birth. Lack of suitable grazing. Too high protein. Stress, being among the most common causes.

Goshna 460.JPG

For some reason of all the livestock I have raised and worked with, the sheep are the ones that struggle in labour. Generally the sheep are also the ones that reject their babies. I've had to be nurse maid for stubborn goats who have little patience with their newborns. However only once have I actually delivered twin goats; that because the mother was mastitic due to neglect.

Goshna 557.jpg

Farming with animals is a big responsibility. But extra care needs to be given during pregnancy, birth and the subsequent weeks, which are the most vulnerable time for the mother and babies. I ensure that their immune system is strong and they are dewormed - naturally. My goats will happily feed on olive leaf, wormwood, cloves and garlic as well as aloe ferrox. Cattle are not as finicky. Sheep are rather more complicated. I prefer chopping up aloe ferrox into the drinking water of the animals. It grows wild here and is an incredible medicinal plant. Probiotics is very important. During and following birth I give a special concoction of my own; with minerals, blackstrap molasses, salt (himalayan) and probiotics. I also like to give kombucha, which my goats will fight over.

Triplets 1.JPG

On occasion we have had a mother reject her baby. There are any number of reasons for doing so. Poor living conditions cause a mother to either sacrifice newborns to save them suffering or to ensure her own survival. A weaker baby is abandoned but will often be restored to mama with some subsidizing. Interference with the newborn by other animals or well meaning humans also causes a mother to reject her baby. However it is possible to reunite mother and baby. Not without some effort and tricks that the old farmers used. The best being to cover the baby with the mother (or adopted mothers) afterbirth I have successfully had my goats adopt another kid using this method. It is quite remarkable to experience.

They say blood is thicker than water. But so is the instinct of love.

Goshna 117.JPG

Sort:  

You have such an eye for taking wonderful pictures! I would love to try raising sheep one day, but I had no idea how much work their pregnancies could be. You are brave in my eyes!

@hebrewhousewife that is such a sweet comment! I don't know about bravery. I believe we each have different gifts and abilities. And strengths. I would love to be a real midwife for human babies. Sadly it is not possible. I am not saying having sheep will guarantee problems. But it is best to prepare for any eventuality. The reward far outweighs any trouble

Look at ALL those beautiful, and cuddly, babies!

I know. My favourite time of year is coming up. Spring and all the little goatie babies will be frolicking in our field. Lambs were early this year so they are already half grown but usually it is quite festive and fun

So true. The maternal instinct is very powerful

Indeed. And beautiful to watch

Such an interesting story. Just as well you were around to give them a hand. You can really tell how much you love your animals in this post.

Thanks @jusipasseti. Yes I love my animals

What a beautiful post. You are amazing and soo knowledgeable. I wonder why sheep abandon their babies? Do they just forget about them? Love reading this. :)

They don't generally abandon them. But I have found of all the farm animals the ones that will reject newborns are usually sheep. I've raised many orphaned lambs. The mother usually has a good reason. If she thinks one is too weak or when there is a drought and they probably think the babies won't survive anyway

Dealing with farm animals must be amazing but I am still afraid to get into that.
Great pictures and meaningfull life, that's what I saw here!
Irelevant but do you have olive trees in South Africa?

Yes. In fact our area is ideal for growing olives. We have 40 which we planted 6 years ago and are now harvesting from.

How nice, baby olive trees! I am used to much older ones :)
I keep forgetting that the flora in South Africa and in Greece is similar!

Yes. Very similar @fotostef

Hi buckaroo. That is hands on literally. I suppose living in the sticks you have to do everything yourself and must learn.

You can say that again! My husband is a jack of all trades (master of none he says). It is rewarding but sometimes frustrating because the businesses (hardware and building etc) who should help are really slack. My focus and passion is my animals. As you can see

Thank you for another part of your life and your work that you show us. I know a little about the animals, very close relatives had farms and I have seen. A hard and permanent work. It looks like you're doing it with pleasure. The second photo is gorgeous!

Thanks @bluemoon. It is hard work. I don't think I ever worked so hard when I still lived in the city. And at least there you get to take vacation. Even have most weekends free! A farmer works harder when everyone else is on holiday! But we love it

I know that. In rural Romania, many are small farmers, do not have many animals or very large plots, but they work all the time to live. For who does it with pleasure and joy is easier.

I love when it's kidding and calving time. It's busy, but so rewarding. Love your pics!

My favourite time of year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68