Lacking Space? Start A Backyard Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

I can't start a homestead (or a smallholding as we say here in the UK) because I don't have any acreage.

That's a phrase I used to say to myself ALL the time. And it might be something you also become regularly disappointed about. As you may have read in my previous post (Why I'm a Wannabe Farmer) I have future dreams of farming. But at the moment I'm stuck in a 3 bedroom terraced house with a 45sqm garden.

Why can't I be on the farm already? It sucks I don't have enough money to move. Why don't I have more land? These were all repetitive thoughts swirling through my brain. And then the 'Aha' moment.

But I DO have SOME land, even if it's just a backgarden. And that's where my urban smallholding began.

003.JPG

The start of my vegetable garden.

Work with what you have


Though you might continue to dream of a small farm, working with the garden space is well worthwhile for two main reasons. Firstly, it helps you feel like you're not wasting time and that you're not in limbo waiting for the future. Secondly, it gives a TONNE of experience. I've grown veggies and kept chickens for years, but until I started going all-in and trying to create an actual homestead, I honesty didn't realise how little I knew. Steep learning curve. And it's better to find out your crap at growing cabbages, or to learn about chicken respiratory diseases BEFORE you go all-in on a LARGE scale.

Vegetables


  • Maximize Space
    • Making the most of every opportunity is crucial if you're working with a small space. Shove vegetable beds wherever there is room and use vertical space too. Cucumbers and gourds can be grown up and around archways so they don't sprawl across the ground. Beans can be grown up and along fences, and guttering can be attached to walls and fencing so that crops like lettuces and strawberries can be grown up the garden instead of across the ground.
      025.JPG
      Strawberries growing in a vertical trough.
  • Quick Crops
    • In general, I favour quick growing, fast turnaround crops in my small space. Cabbages, for example, just take too long to get to maturity and take up space I could be growing salads, carrots or beets in. Longer maturing crops like potatoes could be grown in large sacks or dustbins instead of taking up valuable vegetable bed space.
  • Greenhouse
    • A greenhouse is an invaluable tool on any homestead, helping to get seeds started earlier, sheltering crops from frosts and offering the chance to grow less hardy vegetables. You don't have to go large; my greenhouse is only 3 feet wide. I've used shelves from IKEA to maximise space instead of using standard greenhouse shelving.
      IMG_20170921_163613_007.jpg
      A greenhouse is one essential component. A polytunnel would be even better.
  • Raised Beds
    • You could till up your whole backyard ala Curtis Stone style. But with a small, backyard homestead I prefer to use raised beds that are easy to maintain and allow a huge variety of different crops to be grown. They're easy to make, ideal if your starting out with poor soil and are simple to maintain.
  • Fruit
    • Many small gardens cannot host lots of fruit trees. That, there is a lie! Grow cordon trees instead. Grown at a 45º angle to reduce vigorous growth, you can pack a huge number of fruit trees into a small space. I have a pear, apple and plum but am intending on seriously boosting the number of trees I'm growing. Meanwhile, utilise fencing for soft fruit - I invested in some upright growing, thornless blackberries that take minimal space and offer succulent fruit from July to September.

Thornless, upright growing blackberries are ideal for small spaces.

Livestock


  • Chickens
    • Chickens are the obvious go-to animal to keep in a back garden and there are many reasons; they're easy and cheap to keep, they provide eggs and meat and come in a variety of sizes. If you're not allowed roosters in your area, consider buying in day old chicks to rear so you can cull any boys for meat before they start crowing.
      Feb 2016 625.JPG
      Monkey, one of my Poland bantams.
  • Quail
    • Quail are quickly becoming a favourite of mine. Very quiet and simple to keep, they're mature in just 8 weeks. At that stage you can cull the boys for the freezer and keep or sell the hens for eggs. There's a lovely variety of quail species available too.
  • Rabbits
    • Rabbits are another great backgarden animal; more often thought as a pet rather than for meat. BUT, people have been eating rabbit for centuries so why shouldn't you? Quiet, simple to keep and easy to breed, they can give a lovely alternative to all that poultry meat. Their poop is good for the garden and if you can find a local taxidermist they'll often buy the white pelts to provide a little extra income. Rabbits are on my list of to-do's for 2018!
  • Insects
    • There's a rising trend in Europe for interest in insects as providing protein and a sustainable food source. Mealworms, for example, are extremely high in protein. People have actually also been eating insects for centuries and in many parts of the world, they're considered a delicacy. I have a mealworm colony for feeding my various birds, but I'm also intending on roasting and eating some myself - they supposedly taste like peanuts.
      Feb 2016 525.JPG
      Insects are being looked at as a sustainable, nutrient-rich food source.


Bear in mind that with all livestock, especially in an urban and, therefore, smaller premises, hygiene is essential. There's no 'other' field to move chickens to when land becomes boggy, and space to quarantine new or sick animals might be limited. I end up with chickens in my living room ALL the time. Poop builds up at an astonishing rate too, as does spoiled bedding, so you'll need somewhere to dispose of it. Parasite build-up can also occur more dramatically because there's less space to move animals around on.

It IS very satisfying to rear livestock and it can be done in an urban setting. But costs and work can be higher simply because strict space management is needed to keep everyone healthy.

If you have farming dreams, start today!


Honestly, starting a backyard homestead was the best thing I ever did. Whilst I still long for my 40 acres in the country and dream of all the many things I can do, working with the space I have has taught me many lessons. It's extremely rewarding too, so whether you dig up your lawn and sow row upon row of veggies, or just prepare some starter cut-and-come-again salad trays, start today!

THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

It's a pleasure to meet a fellow gardener and homesteader. Love this post and you have a great garden.

Hello and thanks! It's a work in progress for sure, but I love it :D

Wow..
@brimwoodfarm you did great...thanks for sharing this... Learnt som good tips

Welcome and do find time to check my blog posts

Really, really awesome! Thanks for this great post, @brimwoodfarm! I especially like the mealworms, which I've tasted myself. Okay, tasted is not the best word here, as they taste rather neutral and crunchy. But fried with a good amount of chili powder they beat any type of chips (you'd probably call crisps).

That is REALLY good to know and it spurs me even more to give it a go. Honestly, I'd be happy just to snack on mealworms instead of say, a bag of 'crisps'. ;)

O-kay, here we go... thank you for the inspiration to another post: I'm gonna write about Chapulines, the Mexican delicacy of grasshoppers, and mention mealworms as the European equivalent. Nice!

Great! I'll look out for that :D

What a great compilation of tips and ideas to really make the most of small space. I've just started with mealworms myself, so I'm glad to see you're into raising them too! Most of mine are beetles now, so I'm waiting for the first larvae to emerge from eggs! Thanks for sending encouragement to small space homesteaders! There's so much that can be done, even in tiny yards (like my own!)

Exactly. I used to have the mindset that I couldn't start unless I had at least half an acre or something. But it's amazing what you can in a back garden! I haven't been brave enough to try eating the mealworms myself yet but I do plan to at least try.

This is a fantastic post! I believe whole heartedly in urban farming, what a great example. It was very well written and thought out. I love your polish monkey! The cutest chicken! I have been using apples for my mealworms and it is making to much moisture so I'm excited to try the banana. Your urban farm looks beautiful, love your set up.

Thanks so much. Yeah, Monkey is a very naughty hen....hence her name. ;)

They love banana. It does get a bit mushy which is why I put it on a piece of cardboard.

Thanks for reading :D

Congratulations @brimwoodfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Feeling the same way as you. Live on about 1/4 acre of land, small portable greenhouse and all I do is dream of more. A bigger permanent greenhouse and more containers for my vegetables.
Although I do make decent use of the land and soil I have.

It's amazing how quick (and easy) it is to fill up that space, isn't it?! LOL. I remember moving here and being so happy about my 'big' garden - I was in London before and had hardly anything. But I'd filled it within a year. 1/4acre is nice though - I can imagine all the things I'd want to do with that!

Awesome post full of encouragement! I have been fighting grain mites outbreak in my mealyworm colony since yesterday... not fun! hoping to just rescue enough to start over in fresh bedding...

Thanks Rose. Sorry to hear about your mealyworms - deffo start over and pull out a few of remaining worms for a new colony ;D

This was fantastic. I loved to see the banana on the piece of cardboard feeding the meal worms. I never thought of that to keep the sawdust from getting sogging. Great trick. I showed my wife. We have quail and meal worms.

Did you have a wood fireplace in your greenhouse? That's a pretty cool idea also. I loved what you did with the shelving.

Great work my friend. I'll be back to learn more. Cheers.

They will eat the cardboard too - just so you know! The wood fireplace is just for storage really - I didn't want it to rust in the damp autumn. Thanks for reading. :)

Oh even better that they eat the cardboard. We were putting halved apples in, but it was messy. Your way is so much simpler. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62157.37
ETH 3418.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50