Building a Small Farm - An English Bluebell Wood

in #homesteading7 years ago

Bluebells are gorgeous flowers. So what better way to celebrate them, than by planting a bluebell grove?!

----------

In my previous post Why I'm a Wannabe Farmer I talked about my dream of farming. In a nutshell; I'm to inherit 40 acres of land that's been left to go wild over three decades. The challenge? To move there and start a new, farming life. There are a few hurdles in the way that prevent any immediate move so over the coming two to three years, I'll be working the land and 'preparing', if you will, for our arrival.

So far, I've begun planting a 3.5 acre wildflower meadow, have young saplings growing at home for later transplant, have installed owl boxes, sown the beginnings of a brand new English bluebell grove, started to clear bramble thickets and undertaken a new project restoring and revitalizing a couple of old ponds.

The challenge and goal? Nurture the land back into life, both in terms of biodiversity and land fertility, so that when I'm given the green light to move and build a home, I can hit the ground running when it comes to launching the small farming business.

----------

034.JPG

Isn't the above picture just stunning?

I LOVE bluebells. Actually, I should be more specific. I love ENGLISH BLUEBELLS. See, the problem is, that little Spanish invader. Hyacinthoides hispanica is a bluebell hailing from the Iberian peninsula. It's very pretty flower that comes in the typical blue, but can also be seen in pink and white. And I'll admit, in it's place, I'm quite fond of it. Where I'm not fond of it, however, is in the English countryside.

Why?

Because it cross pollinates with our British variety (Hyacinthoides non-scripta) and that's where the problems begin. The sad truth is that Spanish bluebells are extremely efficient at doing their job - growing, flowering, pollinating and reproducing. But this means that the native English bluebell is being somewhat diluted. I like to hero native flora and fauna where possible and so, as part of my farming plans, I want to establish a native Bluebell grove. The other BIG advantage of English bluebells is that they had a strong, sweet perfume too - something that Spanish variety lacks.

Sowing the Bluebell Grove



This time (October) two years ago, the first planting started. I ordered 100 bulbs and on one of our farming workparty trips, we popped in the bulbs and waited with anticipation for the following spring. Would they grow? Was the site I'd chosen be suitable?

A few bulbs were pulled up by rabbits and squirrels, but they don't taste very nice so for the most part, they were left alone. The following spring - FLOWERS?!

088.JPG

086.JPG

079.JPG

Now...the keen eyed of you will notice a problem here...

Disaster Strikes



For those of you with a good eye, you'll notice these ARE NOT English Bluebells. Instead, they seem to be some hybridised form (they're not true Spanish bluebells either). I was furious. And disheartened. After all, my entire idea was to create a British Bluebell Grove, not a hybrid one.

Still, life goes on.

I contacted the Woodland Trust and asked for their advice which was quite simple; don't bother trying to take all of these out as it will be impossible. Instead, keeping planting English bluebells, and pull off the flowers of hybrid varieties so they're not able to sow themselves. Over time, the newly planted English variety should be able to take over.

So, in autumn 2016, I started all over again as you can see here:

Fingers Crossed for 2018



Timing when to see bluebells can be tricky and unfortauntely, I MISSED this year! I was up at the farm when the flower stems were just starting to appear, but by the time I managed to get back to site, they'd gone over. So, fingers crossed that when I head up in 2018, the little pop of blue here and there will be the right variety this time. Then, over the course of several years, they should grow, sow themselves and, hopefully, turn this little patch into a lovely new English Bluebell Grove!


THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

That sounds so much fun, I cannot wait to start my own home projects in the future, I'm dreaming big! Very inspiring~

Dreaming big is the way to go!

I can imagine how beautiful it must be in full bloom. I really hope you catch it in 2018.

At the moment it's a little sparse as 200 bulbs don't go far but in a few years time it should look amazing. :D

I can imagine, it sounds like a lot, but once planted it isn't really.

That will become an incredibly beautiful grove in a few years! I wish I had the space to do something similar!

You don't need a big space! Even if you've got a single tree you could pop bluebells around the base for something pretty each year.

I absolutely love bluebells! I have to admit I didn't know there were different varieties though. I remember my mum telling me when I was little that I wasn't allowed to pick the bluebells and take them home to plant in our garden because they were protected. I am not sure how true this is, she told me the tooth fairy was real too lol
I live in Nottinghamshire surrounded by woodland and there are some amazing bluebell woods nearby. When they are next in bloom, I will take some pictures and try to see if they are English or Spanish!
Thank you for your post :)

You're not supposed to but I don't think a little girl picking a couple of flowers is too bad. If they're Spanish bluebells I say go for it! LOL.

Definitely take some pictures - would make a great Steemit post to see. :D

So you are a purist ehhh! LOL They are gorgeous regardless! What a beautiful scene!
Oh Happy Day!
Melissa

Ha! No mudblood flowers here!! I'm looking forward to seeing it expand. :D

Oh what a brave heart! I lobe the English bluebells too and I painstakingly removed all the Spanish (thick stemmed ones) from our cottage garden each Spring until there were hardly any foreign ones in sight. It's simply because people don't realise the difference. The English variety (as you know) is fine and pretty. Never mind, you have taken all that trouble you will succeed in the end. Following you to make sure you don't disappoint us! Happy Steeming!

Well done for eradicating them! It's an ongoing mission - they spread SOOOO easily. And I agree - people don't know the difference or even realise that they can cross pollinate and result in the loss of our native variety. I'll try not to disappoint! ;)

I could say Big Sister is watching you, but I'm only happily curious to see how you get on. I usually sign off with Happy Ateeming! With you it will have to be Happy Blue-belling!

Hybrid or not they are gorgeous Thanks for sharing

Thanks! Just wish they were the right ones!

Hi @mdshra. Please don't spam by pasting the link to your own article on other posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72