Reishi Tincture Time!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Recently while out for a hike in the woods we were lucky enough to spot what many refer to as the "Mushroom of Immortality"!

The Reishi mushroom, "Ganoderma lucidum" or "Ling Zhi" in Chinese, have been used throughout history and are considered an "adaptogen" known to help with inflammation, hormonal imbalance, energy, and even damaged blood vessels.

These mushrooms are rarely found....out of 10,000 trees only 2 or 3 will have Reishi growth. They can be found in old growth Hemlock forests on fallen trees. They're also found an dead but still standing trees.

Having been used for over 4000 years it is one of the most researched mushrooms around.

With over 400 known bioactive compounds including Beta-Glucans, Polysaccharides, Triterpinoids, and Sterols, some of the researched benefits of the Reishi Mushroom include:

Detoxification
Respiratory support
Reduced inflammation
Immune system support
Antioxidant
Lower blood pressure
Neutralizes free radicals
Cancer prevention

Preclinical studies have established that the Ganoderma lucidum polysaccharide (GLPS) fractions have potent anti-tumor activity, which has been associated with the immuno-stimulating effects - You can read the abstract HERE

As you can see, today were cutting our Reishi to make a tincture. Once they have been cut and placed on trays we put them into the dehydrator for several hours until completely dried. Whatever we don't use for our tincture will be saved in jars, vacuum sealed and made into tea.

Our tincture is made by breaking the dried slices into smaller pieces, we place them into a large jar and submerge them in Vodka.

This will sit for between 4 and 8 weeks and will then be ready to be made into a dual extraction.
By bringing some water to a boil, placing the mushrooms from the tincture into the boiling water and simmering for about 2 hours and then mixing the alcohol tincture and the water extraction together we will have a nice supply of dual extracted Reishi with health benefits that have been known for thousands of years!








Sort:  

Hello friend, excellent post congratulations, thanks for the support you gave me in my blog, greetings and many successes for you.

You're welcome, and thank you.

I like to eat mushroom.
In our country also it is cultivate. Good to see your mushroom's post.
Thanks for showing us it.

These really are not great for eating, more for tea and tinctures.

hello dear friend @brimax, really this post is quite informative, did not know about this mushroom, really nature does not stop surprising with its great contributions beneficial to our health. I really appreciate when you share your great knowledge with all of us. I send you a big hug. God bless your great knowledge.

Always happy to share anything I know or learn!

No sabia los muchos beneficios que nos aporta a nuestro organismo y las diferentes formas en la cual podemos consumir los Reishi Tincture. 100% natural @brimax

The benefits are many and varied.

Your video is good. Many congratulations to you & Good to see.

Thank you

Very interesting that information, I did not know about the properties, of that kind of mushrooms the first time I observe them, I like mushrooms very much, very good video and those mushrooms look beautiful, thanks not only for sharing, but for instructing us of new knowledge, I send a greeting to you extended to your family, friend @brimax

Thank you as always 😊

Hello Friend how are you? I did not know about this is incredible as I have learned things with you, take care of your health with natural remedies which are very good for our body, you and your wife are very active and take good care of your farm with the beautiful Candy
The fungus of immortality has many benefits and that is why it is worth the whole process by which it passes to obtain you and the supply of Reishi

This mushroom really is a super food with great medical properties.

Hello friend @brimax this seems interesting to me I've always wondered what function these fungus have that eye did not know that his name was a fungus of immortality

I used to see this in the trees I think that more than you could see them I never knew about this now I'm learning and I like it

If you go searching for them, be sure to research the ones you collect. Not all are for consumption.

I like it because with you every day you learn something new and today I do it with these mushrooms. In my case I like plants so I have had the opportunity to see several of them but I had no idea that I could use them in this way in the kitchen

It's very interesting and I think these are very big I've seen them a little bit smaller but in the same way I love them so I have to try

I don't know if these grow where you are, but I am sure there are many varieties that do.

Hey, Bri... I'm trying to get in touch with you on discord... I was hoping you could help me out with this project of mine... I have a few technical questions that I'm sure you'll be able to help out with. You might want to consider becoming part of the "creative team" too - if you're so inclined... You'd most certainly be welcome! Thanks, bro - look forward to hearing back from you... Thanks! Oh yeah, here's the link to give you some background... https://steemit.com/openmic/@passion-ground/open-auditions-for-a-very-special-passion-ground-production

Thank you Brother...as indicated on discord - I'm in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85