Trading For Ducks

in #homesteading5 years ago

Over time, I've been getting to know my local hippie-type folk better, and plugging into the community more and more. The other day I got a facebook message from a friend I hadn't talked to in a a few months asking if I wanted some ducks.

"Oh, ducks..." I thought to myself. My wife has wanted ducks for sometime, we have no set up for them, but it always seems that we put fence up after we get the animals, so I inquired further. There were three of them, all one-year old drakes, meaning basically they where destined for the pot. I've never had duck before, but have wanted to try it for sometime, so decided it would be a good opportunity to acquire some potential duck meat for a trade of some sort.

And so after some discussion, we made a deal that included the trade of some ducks for some six packs of started vegetables, and some fresh veggies throughout the season, as well as future trades of potential rabbit stock. (Which I really want to get back into, but need to find someone to watch them over summer while we're gone...).

It was a heck of a deal, but unfortunately, before I could get the water boiled, they were no longer just white and black ducks, they were Hank and Stanley. So now we are on lookout for some hens, though will likely just end up splitting an order with some friends, and feeding male ducks for a year...

I will say, their quiet quacking is something I rather enjoy, and much more soothing than the clucking of chickens.

Sow seeds of liberty so we can all reap sheaves of freedom together.


https://homesteadsandhomeschools.libsyn.com/rss
doge - DDAJMYvKMiZtGNsEXyfNw4GaagvSrL4QYE
ltc - MTndBdTmzE9CyPEJak8PJPyZfYE3uCyJFD
btc – 3MTXSsDkhpzDsmPZhxGUj2BRDNS4K6Wnvw

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Congratulations @bpangie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57628.63
ETH 2920.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68