Home-IN-Steading Update

Fine! Let's do it the hard way!

wateringbyhand1.jpg

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

The temps turned unusually frigid here in the Ozarks of Arkansas. It hasn't gotten above freezing for the past 2 days and their is no relief in sight until next Monday.

On my in development homestead I have access to water from a community well. To connect to this well I had to trench and install over 1300 feet of water line along the eastern boundary of my and @papa-pepper 's properties a couple of years ago. Every 300 feet or so I also installed frost proof yard hydrants.

The water line terminates at a yard hydrant about 40 feet from the Northeast corner of my property. It is there where I have placed my camper because I also had a power pole installed on that same corner. So, I have power and water. Everything a camper needs to support prolonged habitation.

My animals, however, are about 200 feet west of this hydrant and power.

During the warm weather, running several 100 foot hoses across this great divide wasn't too much of a hassle. Now, when the weather has been below freezing for quite a few days, the hose isn't an option. The only way to get my animals fresh water was to tote it over to them via 5 gallon buckets.

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

Ain't nothing to it but to just do it!

wateringbyhand2.jpg

Thankfully, @alittlebluer ain't skeered of a little cold. She was skillfully filling the empty buckets as I hurriedly carried 2 full ones to water the dog, goats, ducks and Ossabaw pigs. All in all, we ended up lugging about 70 gallons of high quality H2O. Tomorrow will be more of the same.

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

wateringbyhand3.jpg

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

It's a good thing, though.

I need a little more exercise in my day. Too many burgers on the go over the course of my busy summer work and not enough cardio!

Here's to frozen water and to a little hard work! I can feel the pounds dropping off as I write this post.

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

Thanks for Reading!

qs-comments-smart-remarks.gif

BLUER-closing-3 (1).jpg

Sort:  

C-Dax in NZ make and export to the US a set of spray tanks that fit on the back of tour 4 wheeler, and a different set for the front of the 4 wheeler.
from memory 70 Litres in the back and 50Litres in the front set.
if they were new/unused 120l a trip would save a lot of walking.
It will spoil all the "fish that got away" stories though, your arms will be that much shorter.
At the worst, a clean 50 gal drum on the trailer behind the 4 wheeler, even all the buckets for this year.
Work smarter, not harder.
[sorry for being a know all smart arse]

At least it's not in the negatives for highs like it is here in WI! Up here, your water would freeze by the time you carried it over to the animals. :) But you've lived here long enough that you know how it is. We trade snakes and fire ants for stinging cold. Not sure if it's a good trade, but as long as I my car starts and the furnace is still running, I won't complain!

I second that! But I’m in MN. One day, my husband was looking on accuweather, and the artic circle was only 15 degrees colder than we were. Why do we live here?!

I've thought of that many times, but by the time I think of moving, it's spring, and then I get happy again. :)

I feel for you, ive not been in icey cold conditions that compare, but i have had to solve water problems carrying heavy water far... Thanks for this sweet relatable piece. We're about head out into the country to start our first owned homestead adventure!! Im so excited!!

That's great. Be sure to post about your adventure. You'll find a very welcoming and knowledgeable homesteading base here in Steemit. Thanks!

Congratulations @bluerthangreen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nothing like staying warm lugging buckets of water to take care of your animals. Homesteading is doing what has to be done to take care of your animals no matter what the weather is or how you feel. It's a 7 day a week job and your reward is the outcome.

Sometimes you gotta go the hard route! Hey, do you have a post about your yard hydrants?

i am experiencing the exact same problem. I have about 200' of hose running from my house to the water trough. this morning i was hauling 5 gallon buckets from the house up to the cows using my small 15hp Kubota tractor. After about the fifth trip the fuel line froze (guess i must have water in the fuel oil) so had to finish the job using my pickup truck. It looks like that will be my morning chore for the next 12 or so days, maybe longer i guess we will see.

Yes, Arkansas winters can be a bit brute. Growing up our water came from a natural spring. The pipes going to the house would freeze over a lot. Had to carry a many a bucket of water. Resteeming as good fit for my blog

As a child I carried many water buckets to the dogs an calves . Was good days an great memories to look back on wouldn't trade it now for anything if I could.
Alotta times we would have to bring in the water buckets an set them by the wood stove to thaw out an take em back out to the animals .
Good times! ( But definitely , harder work then a hose in the summer)

At least you have a little help to fill the buckets. She makes the job go faster plus I am sure she likes to work with her Dad. It won‘t stay cold for long. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23