Tackling The Big Oak TreesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

image

We recently had a reminder from Mother Nature the other day that winter was quickly at our doorstep by dropping the temperature down in to the 20's. This was very unusal and below normal for my area but it also encouraged me to get my hind end in gear and get my supply of firewood built up!

image

What you see here is a couple of oak trees that have been laying in the woods for quite some time now and we drug them up through the woods with a tractor to an area where I could process the wood. I wasn't looking forward to cutting this up because of the caked on dirt and mud. This is EXTREMELY rough on a chainsaw chain.

image

This is a picture I took when I refueled the saw, I had to sharpen the chain. This tree eat up my chain like crazy, but it will be worth my efforts in the long run when I'm enjoying the heat the oak logs will put out.

image

This is my preferred length that I like to cut the logs. And this is my trusty saw that I use, she got her workout on this day.

image

I took this picture just because I thought the wood grain was pretty. The color in the photo doesn't really do it justice.

image

This was a chore in itself because of all the limbs I had to cut off first and bucking I had to do.

image

That's about all I could do by myself, I had enough for one day at this location. I still had to go unload my truck, split the wood and stack it.

image

It was good and dry so it split easily, thank goodness! This is such beautiful wood!

image

I found this lil guy out and about preparing for hibernation. It was pretty cold that day and he was moving about as slow as I was.

Unfortunately, I overworked myself on this day and paid the price for it by losing a competition that I had over a month invested in. But more importantly, I done harm to my body by being hard headed and thinking that I'm still 20 years old when I'm not. One of these days I might just learn.... I doubt it.

Sort:  

very interesting!
and is it true that the number of circles show the age of the tree??

Look at the density of that oak and how tight its rings are. No bloody wonder it's one of the hardest woods and why you took the beating you did.
Not that I want to make another job for you to do...but a round slab would make a beautiful charcuterie board for your dining table. The grain is gorgeous. ;)

Yes Becca, this tree kicked my ass. And you just can't ever again say the word 'ring' or 'rings' to me or even in my presence without my corrupted mind going to the anus...Thanks!

@bluelightbandit
I see you are in the groove on getting firewood ready. I did that for years when I was a youngster. We sawed wood with a crosscut saw and I split it for the stove. I worked many hours at that. I really liked to do that when I was young.
But now. Only if I have too. Ha

Francis

When I was processing this tree, I was thinking about how fortunate we are today to have the tools we have to get these jobs done. I can't imagine how it was back in the 17 and 1800's.

Luckily we changed our minds about installing a fireplace or we would be out doing the same thing. When it comes to working outside it is tough to stop. Stay warm for a couple of days. Sorry you lost the challenge. I know your stakes were pretty high! Take care my friend. 🐓🐓

A fireplace or woodstove is always good to have as a backup if you needed it. We have a heat pump that I could use as primary heat but I'm stingy and want to try and prolong the life of that jewel as long as I can. And I figure that if I can use wood to heat for free, why not? It just takes a lot of work! And I mean a lot of work. Not just processing firewood but the actual act of using the stove itself. Constantly stoking and adding wood and the emptying out the ashes. Sometimes I wonder if it's worth it. It must be because I keep doing it every year lol. One of the things that I do love about it though is when I'm in my shop working, I love to sit in front of it and watch the flames (it has a window in the door) while I enjoy an adult beverage or 12. I enjoyed that write up about the old house in your area, it brought back a lot of childhood memories for me, especially ones on the motorcycle as I mentioned lol.

i love burning oak it is a real treat really burning wood like this, in a few years down the line oak will be rare! i have a magical memory of dragging old oak planks out an estuary and drying them, eventually burnt them at christmas and they burnt blue and purple flames. it was magic :)

I agree, oak really is the best wood to burn and it seems to continue to go up in price.

Ah yea. You should stay warm now. Sorry about the pp contest.

Appreciate it man, it just wasn't meant to be this time.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Congratulations @bluelightbandit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94