Free Wood Everywhere: Pick It Up, And Stack It Up!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Free Wood Cover.jpg

Ever been driving down the road and see these?
wooden-pallets_1280.jpg

When I first started seeing wooden pallet projects on YouTube, I wondered where to get some. I actually bought a couple from a hardware store, lol. (I was a Scavenger Noob at this point.)

One day I was on my way to the YMCA, and realized that I always see pallets behind a waterbed shop, leaning against the back wall outside, and I wondered... are they going in the trash?! I stopped in and asked the fellow behind the counter (Phil) if I could have them.

He said yeah, "Take them all. Take as many as you like whenever you see them. I hate to throw them away." He asked me what I do with them? I told him I was building a cabin in the woods.

He asked, "What are you using for the floor?" I don't know, I said. "Today is your lucky day!" Long story short... he also sold flooring (which I didn't know). He gave me all I wanted of some random hardwood flooring, for FREE. I filled up my van and drove away smiling.

That was a Eureka moment. Discarded free stuff is everywhere.

Pallet Wood has free aesthetics.
Kreg9 copy.jpg
This pallet wood is so aesthetically pleasing, I hesitated cutting it.

I decided to use this board in a more prominent place in my cabin...
Trim red.jpg
As full frontal window trim.

The window sill is one of the boards Phil gave me.
Phils board.jpg

I flipped the board over to the unfinished side, so I can finish it however I choose later.
Window Trim.jpg

All of this was absolutely free. All I had to buy was fasteners.

I got off on a tangent here. In this case the tangent simplified my post. I started out with the idea of showing some examples of what could be done with free wood/pallet wood.

I will leave you with a few examples so that my post will be closer to my original intention...

Example free.jpg

The step onto the deck is a heavy duty hardwood pallet. I just picked it up on the side of the road. Didn't cost a cent.

The table on the deck cost me two times fifty cents. When I picked up the base (free), it had carpet on it. (Must have been an interior landing.) The boards on the top cost me fifty cents, and the legs fifty cents. (I call it my fifty cent table.)

The inlaid boards on the door is pallet wood. On the cabin is the finished painted product.

Closing thoughts...

It’s disgusting to throw stuff out.
Second hand always has a story.
Pallet Wood has free aesthetics.

[Later, take care!]

82nd_Crest.jpg

Sort:  

Very cool. I am so envious of your finds. You hit the jackpot when you got flooring too. So many people out there in the world that are homeless. So many pallets that need a home. Sounds like the perfect match to me. 🐓🐓

Thanks! Do you use pallets?

No pallets used just yet. We are in the early stages of building. As you discussed with another reply I am a little concerned about it burning. 🐓🐓

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

You can also benefit and support the cause by using the upvote bot @greengrowth.

Minimum bids from 0.01 SBD! The early adopters of this new bot have been receiving 100% upvotes! Wow!

Here's a little bridge I built with my brother out of pallets. FB_IMG_1520977297358.jpg

Very NICE. That looks like bridge I would like on my property. Thanks for sharing!

Of course, you're welcome.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Thanks so much for the Post I use pallet wood all the time it's awesome it's takes a lot of work but into being worth it I have upvoted and followed you. Thanks for sharing this information.

Thank you Buddy! Pallet wood is awesome!

What have you done with pallet wood? It is only limited by our imaginations. Thank you for commenting!

I love reading about pallets and all the wonderful things that can be done with it.

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.

let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Please do, and thank you!

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS

The main chat area is the Front Porch, plus there's a Welcome Channel and Newbie steemit channel.

Any questions you have, feel free to ask. Someone is always in the main chat area

Interesting... I clicked the invite, and was greeted with a message, that I have to have been on Steemit at least three months.

That is like being invited to a party, and being turned away at the door.

I thought I was invited for my good looks, and talent, not how old I am ;).

I never heard of that before- weird.
Ok... go to our website- http://www.homesteaders-online.com/community-chat/

I am in now. Must have been a glitch.

Thank you for checking on me!

It means so much more to create unique pieces yourself and also to recycle the materials as you have for so little cost! Keep going you are on to something here!

Thank you very much! It really does make you feel good to repurpose, and create something.

I have not found to many things on a homestead that I use more then pallets. I have a whole pallet city of hog and goat pens that I use and they keep them in better then other types of fencing I have tried. I have cut them down and used the boards for all kind of raised bed and potter projects also. Pallets are fantastic even if just for a nice fire and a few beers. Thanks for the article and information.

I have thought about using pallets for a fence. I wonder if that could look ok. Right they are great for fires. Burn like crazy. Thank you for commenting, and reading my post.

Not a great picture. If I get time I will try and take some but you have to stager them. If you like them up in a strait line they will just fall over but if you put one in front of the last and the next behind that one then come back and do the same thing attaching them to the first row they are very sturdy. This is the best picture I have right now. Not exactly a white picket fence but I am sure you could make them look a lot better then mine do with livestock running around in them.

exKIMG0518.JPG

I can't stand seeing wasted useful things. Nice post and that one piece that ended up a full frontal for your window is very aesthetically pleasing!

Thanks for inspiring people to use their noggin!

Score!! Free hardwood? Dude!

I love pallet wood. I always have some in the backyard. I’ve built Composting enclosures, Worm farms, simple furnitures. But a cabin! Man you’re good!

Well, I didn't build the whole cabin with pallet wood, hehe. But I have seen it done. That could be sweet! A little splintery, but sweet nonetheless. These pallets are almost Lego blocks. Got any photos of your creations?

Yes, I hadn’t a closer look at the photos on desktop 😂
Still kudos for the work. Love it.
Compost enclosure:
585EBE08-9E49-42E6-A4F0-0F26633A4D46.jpeg

Worm Bin:
15B0E807-C0D2-4AB9-A665-3D914B051046.jpeg

Very nice Quochuy! I was just thinking about doing that. Well for compost, not worms. But maybe I need some worms too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77