Nearing Completing Of Trench Digging, Building Compost Box, Filling In Raised Bed With Repurposed Box Hockey

in #homesteading7 years ago

I worry that my plants are going to have a tough time growing with all the local competition. I'm not referring to the sunlight, as I feel this patch of dirt will receive ample sunlight throughout the day, mixed with shade in the later hours so as to not roast the veggies before they're even plucked!

I scraped the topsoil around the box hockey frame to fill the one half. The dirt was moist and filled with decaying matter from the massive burn I had conducted in the earlier winter months, before the first snow I believe. I hope that soil will have enough nutrients to start growing.. But I have finally begun to build my compost box nearby..

Simply using an old pallet from a delivery my father had gotten earlier this month as the frame. I have a friend, Aaron, who I have enticed enough to join Steemit, just still waiting on his word back so he can begin posting, who can grab me two more pallets for the side of the box.

And I have now begun to collect food scraps for the compost in a big glass jar, which I will empty each week into the pile, along with tons of yard refuse that I have constantly laying around here. SO MANY LEAVES!

I think I will dig one more trench and fill the other half of the Box Hockey frame before I finally wrap the stakes with chicken wire. I feel like I kind of lucked out, not planting anything just yet, since there is a massive snow storm expected in the next few days.....

IMG_0136.jpg
The Repurposed Box Hockey Frame Filled With (hopefully) Nutrient Rich Topsoil.

IMG_0137.jpg
Different Angle

IMG_0145.jpg
Tons of Refuse!

IMG_0146.jpg
How Cool Would It Be To Start Farming Birds Or Something Of That Nature, Eggs?!

IMG_0147.jpg

IMG_0148.jpg
Re purposed Pallet Used For The Back Of The Frame

IMG_0150.jpg

IMG_0151.jpg
Food Scraps Jar In The Kitchen.

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

Holler Out Tuesday Post

CONGRATULATIONS! You were mentioned as one of the homesteaders in this curation post!

Thanks again,
@goldendawne!

Your outreach is very humbling. Encouragement has many forms and you are just one excellent example of how to provide that encouragement!

Excellent post and Congratulations on your curation award!

Thank you very much, You as well!

Keep on living Free!

This is amazing. I stumbled on your post from @goldendawne's post.

I was drawn to your blog by here mention of your compost box. Amazing stuff.

I am in the process of floating a renewable energy coy (biogas, solar) in my country, the future is definitely green and we must key into it and help others leverage on these many opportunities.

That's an excellent idea, for food and perhaps fuel from excess biogas!

My compost box is still in the making, but should have the remaining supplies so enough!

Thank you again!

This post has received a 48.28% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @biffybirdcam.

Exciting! Good luck with the compost and the new garden. It is such a beautiful setting and the soil looks amazing :) Are those new raised beds I see next to the compost bin?

Very exciting, thank you for your comment and luck wishes! I wouldn't trade this patch of dirt for anything, probably...

I had just recently dug these trenches in the past two weeks in preparation. Before this though, the whole patch of land was grown in with weeds and vines. I took the liberty to completely obliterate all those nasty prickler weeds in the fall, make a huge pile of debris and refuse, burned the shit out of it, and spread out the ashes before any snow had fallen this winter. The dirt appears brown and fertile in some spots but dry and "dead" in others.

I am just praying. Nothing planted yet, since snow is on ground again.

It's a blank slate! How exciting :) Your hard work is already paying off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62