HOLLER OUT Tuesday- Homesteader Curation DAY!

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

HOMESTEADERS on steemit!

holler out image.png

Image By @bobydimitrov


Today is the day of the week that I do my weekly HOLLER OUT to other homesteading steemians who have influenced me, offered support or made a post that really spoke to me. I use this post to curate these homesteaders and gardeners with the expectations others in the HSO community will find a new person to follow as well as opening up new avenues for the people mentioned here.


The FEATURED HOMESTEADER is just a favorite that I have found this past week. And to add a little twist to it all... When this post pays out next week after the seven days, he or she will receive 1-steem in their wallet.

The remaining two honorable mentions of this HOLLER OUT Tuesday will each receive one half steem from me. Again, when this post has been live for seven days and pays out next Tuesday.


FEATURED HOMESTEADER


@qberryfarms




She just got on steemit this week (thanks to her husband @qberry) and she is already showing us some great posts- including her introductory post.

I am excited to make friends with house plant enthusiasts, veggie and flower gardners, wine makers, fermenters, cooks, adventure travelers and pet lovers of all kinds. Regarding the Garden and Canning, I have plenty of space to fill in my canning room. I gave it my best shot last year, but only water bath canning. This year I am starting ‘real’ canning!

WAIT until you see her canning room and oh her greenhouse! These are the things we all cream about!

Also check out a recent post about her garlic harvest.

We talked to several friends and two area Homesteaders and they all recommended Garlic for this area, and a hard neck variety.


Honorable Mentioned Homesteaders



@biffybirdcam




Make sure to check out his post about Trench Digging, Building Compost Box, Filling In Raised Bed

I worry that my plants are going to have a tough time growing with all the local competition. I'm not referring to the sunlight, as I feel this patch of dirt will receive ample sunlight throughout the day, mixed with shade in the later hours so as to not roast the veggies before they're even plucked

He's also sharing his seed starting of the season here and he's using an old cardboard egg carton to do it in. This is his first attempt so head over and give him some encouraging words and support.

Never done any of this stuff before but from viewing some resources and from what we could scrap together and what I had bought last season, we're making the best of it.



@naturealwysright



@naturealwysright is big into making videos and he has been utilizing steemit's Dtube. If you look through his profile and page, you will find some great homesteading and gardening videos. Including this one about winter harvest.

Oops, I should have planted sooner, oops this crop would have been more profitable to plant.
Learning from our mistakes and recording them is extremely important to businesses and especially farmers. I'll touch on some planting strategies to harvest the most food and get the highest profits in winter or any time of year.

When you have a moment scroll all down his page on steemit and look for some other great videos to watch.



Make sure to check out @kiaraantonoviche's Weekly Homesteading Newsletter here.


Make sure to check out their profiles and pages as well as their posts!



If you too are a homesteader, gardener, off-grid lifestyle person or have other self-sufficient and self-reliant interests, consider joining our steemit homesteaders community.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

That's very kind of you. This is a great way of giving these people exposure. You're a angel.

Holy Holler Out! I am plum giddy right now. Thank you so much-

I'm a little partial to the Featured Homesteader, but I found two new ones to follow. Thanks for the work identifying great folks to follow as always.

WOW, THANK YOU so much for the Holler!!

I am certainly just beginning down the long road of sustainability, but see I knew that people who care about the environment also care about everyone else as well!!

I know once my local community sees the potential of adopting more green and renewable practices, it will change this place for the better!

Society has thick skin though, so we must continue to persist!

Thanks again for the Holler @goldendawne!

Congratulations everyone. I am excited to read your articles and learn more techniques. Welcome to the community. I hope to be participating more myself as the days go by. Thank you @goldendawne for being so steadfast.

You guys are amazing!

Nature true heroes.

what another great collection of featured authors!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67705.30
ETH 3767.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73