Compost Grows Bigger, A Battle Against Clay Soil, And Shiitake Spawn Takeover The Sawdust - April 5th 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_1111.JPG

I regret that I hadn't taken a photo right as I first peeled back the top layer of the compost pile.. because the evidence was very clear that the decomposition process was well underway! Lots of decomposed material with the gray color and what looked like steam, so I know the temperatures are getting up.

Still, I am adding more house scraps of veggies, fruit and egg shells and piling more brown refuse on top. I haven't yet acquired any more pallets either for the two remaining walls of the compost, perhaps a roof too. I have also been looking into a hugelkultur since I have so much extra wood and crap laying around. Just need to figure out the soil issue.

IMG_1112.JPG

The sky was a vibrant blue, with a nice clarity in the atmosphere. Although there was a pretty obvious soapy sheen to the clouds near the Sun, since they spray the sky so often with chemicals and regular pollution as well this seems to be a regular occurrence now in our skies.

IMG_1114.JPG

IMG_1115.JPG

The issue with my soil is that it is extremely high in clay content, which makes it clump easily when wet, and impossible to work with if wet. Also is bad for aeration of the soil and can lead to rot of the plants if water is too stagnant. Since I have been tasked with replacing all the plants in the large pots on the pool deck, I will also grab a few bags of mulch to amend my clay soil with.

Most of the plants I transplanted appear to be dead. So I will work harder towards making this work. Snow is in the forecast, even if it is only a little now. Need those steady warm temperatures!

IMG_1116.JPG

IMG_1117.JPG

IMG_1118.JPG

I had saved the bag that was sent with all the shiitake spawn dowels I used for inoculating a few logs for fall I wrote in a separate post here, and had thrown the sawdust from the drill cores of the logs into the bag. There was some gooey looking stuff in the bag, I assume shiitake spawn or something, because whatever it was has grown a bit inside the bag with all the food. Cool stuff! I could always make more sawdust, and add it to it, creating more shiitake spawn sawdust, and could use the sawdust to inoculate some more logs! So much to do..

IMG_1133.JPG

IMG_1134.JPG

Take care everybody!

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

Hello @biffybirdcam,

Just wanted to say hi and let you know that your wonderful post have been picked up for the weekly Sustainability Curation Digest in association with Minnow Support Project.

Your post will be Upvoted and REsteemed by @msp-curation bot on behalf of MSP.

Thanks for writing awesome content and if you have some time, make sure to check out some of the other posts from this week.

Sustainability Curation Digest #3 🌸🍄🌹 by Carpedimus - MSP

Keep up with the great work :) and thanks for sharing!

This was an excellent topper to a Sunday. Thank you very much for your support and recognition!

Your effort to shine light on minnows in need of recognition is an honorable venture. And I appreciate it very much. Thank you

Keep going @biffybirdcam, you are on the right track!
When I lived in Australia, we added sawdust to the clay soil, which helped, but better still, we had free access to goat stables and the floor content of straw, urine and poop.
We were given this free of charge if we mucked out the stables for the aging owner and it was the best ever gift to us and our garden.
These days in Bali, we have two composts going, which once broken down, get spread on the newly turned earth and viola, all the vegetable and fruit seed germinate and surprise us!
We allow natural weeds to take root, which form "companion planting" and keeps away the bugs.
Occasional cleaning helps to keep the weeds in check.

Interesting info, thank you for your encouragement. There are definitely some horse, goat and alpaca farms around here that would perhaps be willing to depart with a trash can or two full of the muck.. great idea!

With regular turning I hope to have my new compost pile ready by early Summer, late Spring. ironically, without composting or farming in mind, I had spent last fall making piles of leaves and refuse in other locations around the property.. that thinking now, would make excellent amendments to the soil as well.

AHHH so much to learn and do! Crazy! And i though I was smart at weather and science! Never ending knowledge! Glad I have some books on this stuff too if the internet ever fails for good and I can't chat with yall super helpful people!

There are some wonderful books on permaculture too, if you haven't ventured into that area.
When we emulate Nature, we align with her principles and gardening becomes easier (note I didn't say "easy"!)
We live on a river ravine with the primary jungle coming right up to our terraced vegetables gardens, so our biggest challenge is discouraging the troop of monkeys that regularly visit, that our cherished, nurtured and loved veggies, are destined for our bellies, not theirs!
Then we remember, they were here a long time before us!
Veggie Gardens - Heaven in Bali.jpg

Oh that sounds like an interesting challenge. And looks like an amazing garden you have! I can only imagine all the hours of labor to create such a landscape of green life! And the dirt on your hands would tell a lot of stories yeah?

Yall got kids? Grandkids? Lucky kids if so..

Lot's of dirt under the fingernails too!
One older daughter in Australia an environmentalist like me and twin 8 year old girls here in Bali, who love to help in the garden.
In fact, they go to an amazing alternative school, where they grow their own vegetarian lunch.
And you biffybirdcam?

None. Hopes of kids.. but none yet. @kelsnm and I both agree now is not the time.

Congratulations on your family!

Hello biffybirdcam!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82